Starting Help - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-07-2012, 05:24 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Starting Help

Hey guys I want to thank you for all the help before I get into this. I'm new to diesels and Ford's but I'm scratching my head on this one. I bought a 2000 f250 ext cab with 275k 3 weeks ago for 3k. The guy I got it from only had it for 2 weeks so the truck history is unknown. Here's where it starts it needed oil cooler seals and an oil change so I did that. Due to weather and family the truck sat for 2 days. Got it all finished, went to start it and drained the batteries trying to get it started. Charged them up and finally got it started. Ran rough, loping with blue and white smoke. Drive it around the block and it clears up and smoothes out. The block heater doesn't work and it's not the cord. I'm getting no resistance at the fitting on the oil filter. I pulled the passenger vc off just to check the harness and it looked good. All four glow plugs were unplugged though so I plugged them back in and buttoned it up thinking that was the prob, it wasn't. I replaced the gpr and 4 glow plugs and it still doesn't start without pedal to floor and 10 to 15 sec of cranking. I cycle the gps 2 or 3 times before starting. Idk it's getting frustrating other than spending a hundred bucks and taking it to a dealer and have it diagnosed what are some other things I can do? I don't have a scanner and the cel is not on. I live ij Florida so it's def not cold out. I guess I'm just looking for suggestions. Any help would be appreciated thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-07-2012, 07:38 AM
Compression Ignition Addict