Issues after HID install with cluster going haywire - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 Old 09-03-2012, 08:39 AM Thread Starter
Powered By Dinosaur poop
 
GotTurboLag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to GotTurboLag
Issues after HID install with cluster going haywire

Ok so installed some HID headlights on my 02 F250 as I live in Alaska and suffer from poor night vision. After installing the headlights I noticed when I am driving and turn the lights on my cluster goes into reset mode where all the needles sweep then it returns to normal. I have checked all connections to ensure there are no shorts (its a plug and play system).. just trying to figure out if maybe a resister is needed or something.


Thanks
GotTurboLag is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 09-03-2012, 09:13 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Royal, IL
Posts: 500
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
HID's and these year trucks dont get along... Look on ebay for some Ferrite beads. Do you have a tuner on the truck?

02' F250 7.3 Reg. Cab
-SOLD in '13
-Bought back October '15. Awaiting rebuild

2014 Cruze Diezzel.
Tyrexs is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 09-03-2012, 09:53 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,411
Thanks: 7
Thanked 273 Times in 262 Posts
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Nothing to worry about,, perfectly normal for our system to react that way to the RF spike generated by the HIDs ballast. Just drive
NoRalPh is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 09-03-2012, 03:14 PM Thread Starter
Powered By Dinosaur poop
 
GotTurboLag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to GotTurboLag
Ok was concerned it might be a big issue. I do have a tuner on the truck as well as some other mods ill list below:

:Superchips Flashpaq
:AirAid intake
:4'' turbo back magnaflow exhaust
:4'' FabTech lift with fabtech dual stabilizer
: 17'' rims with 36s
:07 front end conversion
:Airbags in the rear

EGT's and Boost are on par but I have run into a issue with the truck hitting limp mode with the performance tune (over boost) still researching how to combat this I know with my old turbo gas cars I used to race we would run a Map Clamp to fool the PCM into not seeing the extra boost.

I bought the truck in May while deployed to Afghanistan she had 198K on the ticker and when I came home for R&R took the truck from Seattle to So Cal and it did great on fuel I was averaging 550-600 a tank running at 75mph.
GotTurboLag is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome