ECT sensor - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-21-2012, 06:57 PM
Premium Member


 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Monore, NC
Posts: 2,532
Thanks: 89
Thanked 25 Times in 23 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to RYanmas9
ECT sensor

Hello again all,
Quick question. My temperature gauge is functioning. It shows normal range when driving. My problem is that my CEL is on due to it not communicating with the computer. I went to pull codes and its showing that its not getting a reading from the sensor and is at -40 degrees. Anyone suggest where I should start?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 08-22-2012, 04:45 AM
Premium Member


 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Monore, NC
Posts: 2,532
Thanks: 89
Thanked 25 Times in 23 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to RYanmas9
Anything? Wire harness somewhere?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 08-22-2012, 06:28 AM
lug lug is offline
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 66
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You're going to have to toss a bone. What code did you pull? The gas versions have a splice to the PCM and the 6.8 actually has a CHT sensor for the PCM. The 7.3 feeds directly to the instrument panel and your functioning gauge.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 08-22-2012, 06:36 AM
Premium Member


 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Monore, NC
Posts: 2,532
Thanks: 89
Thanked 25 Times in 23 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to RYanmas9
I have a 2002 7.3L. I have replace the thermostat and the sensor with no luck. It is showing code P0117.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 08-22-2012, 10:12 AM
lug lug is offline
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 66
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Manual or auto? Is that the original PCM or a suitable look a like from a junkyard?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 08-22-2012, 02:02 PM
Premium Member


 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Monore, NC
Posts: 2,532
Thanks: 89
Thanked 25 Times in 23 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to RYanmas9
It's a manual. I believe its the original PCM from the factory. The only thing Im not sure of is what type of chip they had on it before or what they might have done when they took it out. When I installed my chip I didnt see any burn marks or anything that was damaged.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 08-22-2012, 02:58 PM
lug lug is offline
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 66
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The manual version uses pin 37 Org/Blk wire. I found a very nice wiring diagragm and I don't like linking to other sites but I saw you've been fighting this for awhile from a past post. Download the diagragm and resize it so you can easily trace the wires and see the color coding. My 2000 Ford wiring book was not a revised version and never mentions the manual using pin 37, only the auto is listed using it for the XMSN temp sensor. Since you changed the sensor and the thermostat that leaves checking the wires. I doubt it's a PCM failure, but you can't rule those out either. I hope you turn this problem into history. Check this out: Full Size Continuous Wire Diagram - Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 08-31-2012, 04:27 PM
Premium Member


 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Monore, NC
Posts: 2,532
Thanks: 89
Thanked 25 Times in 23 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to RYanmas9
Well lugz I fixed the problem. I never knew that there was another temperature sender underneath the tensioning pulley. Changed it out and problem fixed. Thanks for all your help

Sent from my DROID Pro using AutoGuide App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 09-05-2012, 11:38 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,854
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
RYAN...you got a p/n for that sensor you replaced or a pic of its location? Only sensors i can think of in that area, are the CPS and the EBP sensors.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 09-05-2012, 11:40 AM
Premium Member


 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Monore, NC
Posts: 2,532
Thanks: 89
Thanked 25 Times in 23 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to RYanmas9
I can get you one. The easiest thing to do is just feel with your hand behind the pulley and you'll find 2 wires.

Sent from my DROID Pro using AutoGuide App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors