ect sensor problem - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 Old 08-08-2012, 09:22 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ect sensor problem

alright so i bought the truck without the gauge working on the dash, however since then i have swapped two different sensors in, one from autozone, then one from the dealership. neither of them working, i've jumped the two terminals together to confirm that the gauge itself works and jumps up and down.

just curious where i should go from here? is it a ground issue or a frayed wire? nothing seems to have cut or splice the loom anywhere, but i'm not exactly sure where to go from here. any help would be greatly appreciated thank you
quadracer22 is offline  
post #2 of 4 Old 08-09-2012, 11:29 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
any ideas that i could try guys?
quadracer22 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 08-09-2012, 11:50 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
7.3Lariat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Centennial, CO
Posts: 1,678
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
run new wire from the sensor to the gauge and see if there is something with the wire(s) that you can't really see in the loom. That is about all I can think of because that is really the only thing not tested/replaced. /shrug


______________________________________________
Mike

SOLD
Mods: BD-X monitor, 6637, BTS, GT38R, Snow MPGMax, International up-pipes, Hi-Flow Outlet, 5" Diamondeye, HPx, FRx, Gearhead tunes, Tru-Cool tranny cooler, Remote Start

376HP 791ft-lbs on 10.15.11
7.3Lariat is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 08-13-2012, 02:47 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
**update fixed the problem

apparently my local dealership gave me the wrong temp sensor p/n (3F1Z12A648A), i fixed the problem by getting the correct sesnor p/n (F65Z100884AA). gauge on the dash now moves up and down as it should
quadracer22 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome