Cruise Control Disengages - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-11-2012, 12:22 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 77
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Cruise Control Disengages

I have a problem on one particular road where cruise control disengages without me touching the brake pedal.

Its admittedly a sealed but bumpy winding section of road.

On the new freeway which is smooth as - I can go for maybe an hour before it will occasionally just disengage cruise control by itself - whereas on the bumpy road it happens every few kms.

Could it be that the break pedal moves a little by itself with the bumps and the disconnect sensor is too finely set?

Is it an easy fix?

Maybe there's something else? Does it work by maybe a dirty sensor on the tail shaft that counts RPM'S to maintain the speed or something?

Hoping this is something simple...(and cheap) that I can rectify myself.

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-15-2012, 03:05 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Same problem with Cruise Control disengaging !!!

It began with the cruise disengaging every so often, then I noticed that when I would hit a bump in the road, it would disengage. Now, I can't get it to engage. Looking forward to your thoughts. So for, I have been able to fix or replace any problem that I came across by looking it up on the forum
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 07-01-2012, 06:34 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
figure out a way to monitor your brake lights. if they are on when your trying to engage cruise control its probably a bad brake pedal switch.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 07-12-2012, 08:50 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New Boston
Posts: 789
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Idk if its anything like my other ford, but IIRC almost all cruise controls are held by vacuum..

you could possibly have a leak in a line somewhere that would open up just enough with a bump or something and over time, grew causing your no cruise issue.

Sent from my DROIDX using AutoGuide.Com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 07-12-2012, 11:29 PM
aussie=effie
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: melbourne, australia
Posts: 265
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
its probably your brake pedal switch needs adjusting
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 07-13-2012, 01:28 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Boise, Idaho and SLC,Utah FOR NOW
Posts: 151
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Take ur psd to ford theres a recal for that exact problem... Ill try to get the recall number... But they can look it up by your vin... Y worry let them fix it... fyi im pretty sure diesels dont use vacum... Lol



Sent from my SPH-D710 using AutoGuide.Com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 07-13-2012, 05:25 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New Boston
Posts: 789
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by GunnyRappUSMC View Post
Take ur psd to ford theres a recal for that exact problem... Ill try to get the recall number... But they can look it up by your vin... Y worry let them fix it... fyi im pretty sure diesels dont use vacum... Lol



Sent from my SPH-D710 using AutoGuide.Com Free App
I forgot about the harness recall.. and I couldn't remember if they did or not. I had a similar problem on my f150 and turned out to be a vacuum leak.

Sent from my DROIDX using AutoGuide.Com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 07-13-2012, 04:56 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Boise, Idaho and SLC,Utah FOR NOW
Posts: 151
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ahh yes but as i said diesels dont have a vacum system i dont think....

Sent from my SPH-D710 using AutoGuide.Com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 07-16-2012, 04:31 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
some diesels have a vacuum pump but thats just for the blend doors in the a/c n heat
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors