Can't read the code! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 03-11-2012, 03:39 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Can't read the code!

Hey all. I have a 2000 Excursion w/ the 7.3. I had a GPCM fail on me, then I couldn't read any codes! I replaced the GPCM, cuz that's the last thing that read bad, hoping that will make the light go out, since I need to get it inspected to get it registered. Well, it starts easy while its cold, but the light came back on. I looked at the plug and I don't see anything wrong with it and traced the wiring back about 2 feet and nothing. Is there another way to get the codes? If not, how do I fix that? Thanks for the help!

Sent from my PH44100 using AutoGuide.com App
Meat_Puppet is offline  
post #2 of 6 Old 03-12-2012, 06:04 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,319
Thanks: 7
Thanked 253 Times in 244 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
What are you using to retrieve codes? If the not right equipment, and most are NOT right, that's what you get... Light's ON but "No Codes Present".
NoRalPh is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 03-13-2012, 05:32 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm taking it to advance auto parts. I've taken other vehicles to the same place and had no problems. I don't know the model, but its orange. The screen it is coming up with when it is plugged in is "please connect cable of reader to vehicle's diagnostic port", so its not even sensing it. I'll try again tomorrow, because I pulled the plug off to check the wires for any nicks or breaks.

Sent from my Android using AutoGuide.com App
Meat_Puppet is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 03-13-2012, 05:38 PM
Doesn't Even Care


 
HVAC SuperTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Fletcher, NC
Posts: 18,045
Thanks: 105
Thanked 139 Times in 134 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Advance auto and auto zone code readers won't read our trucks because they aren't obdII compliant.

Sent from my Acer Android Tablet

Nick
E99/CC/Lariat/Factory Wide Body Kit
"The Mistress"
Power Hungry Performance HYDRA Chip
Custom Tuned by Bill@PHP, Tony Wildman@Total Diesel Performance and Lars@Gearhead



D66 w/Dieselsite WW2, Full Force 250/100s, Adrenalin HPOP, Built Trans, Walbro Fuel Pump, S&B Intake, 6" Stacks, Leveling Kit, Eagle Alloy Wheels, 315/75/16 Grabber AT2s & Much More




HVAC SuperTech is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 03-14-2012, 09:38 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
That's strange. I've had it read there in the past, maybe a year ago, and that's how I found info that possibly my GPCM had gone bad (6 GP had come up faulty LOL) I'm probably going to take it to my mechanic to have a pin test done. How are they not obd-II compliant, when they have an obd-II port under the dash?

Sent from my PH44100 using AutoGuide.com App
Meat_Puppet is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 03-14-2012, 10:33 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 6,319
Thanks: 7
Thanked 253 Times in 244 Posts
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meat_Puppet View Post
That's strange. I've had it read there in the past, maybe a year ago, and that's how I found info that possibly my GPCM had gone bad (6 GP had come up faulty LOL) I'm probably going to take it to my mechanic to have a pin test done. How are they not obd-II compliant, when they have an obd-II port under the dash?
Yes, it's an OBD-II port, yes you can get some of the codes with a Generic OBD-II scanner, but NO our trucks are NOT OBD-II!

Here's the deal, OBD is a set of standards really and, because of the trucks GVWR, don't apply to us. First you can Forget the fact that it's a diesel truck engine and few of those generic codes apply, but for all the other systems (trans, body, etc.) where an "AutoZone or Advanced" scanner is pretty much useless...

Anybody who uses a Generic OBD-II scanner is just kidding themselves and wasting their time
NoRalPh is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome