Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

Only will start with starting fluid

32K views 31 replies 13 participants last post by  Instructor 
#1 ·
My 99 7.3 will not start in the morning after a cold night. I plug it in at night but in morning I turn the key to on, wait till relay kicks off, then try to start. No luck. After a few minutes of trying smoke comes out from under hood (like exhaust or something). The only way to start is to spray a little starting fluid. I know this is not good but what other choice do I have.

#3 ·
I just got it last weekend. The oil was just changed he said. I have no idea on the fuel filter. It runs after fluid spray, so wouldn't that eliminate filter? I'm new to this, it's my first diesel.

#4 ·
See if you can notice a current draw when plugging it in. Feel the engine around the block heater to confirm operation after having it plugged in for a couple hours. Jump the two large posts on the glow plug relay. Notice if there is a current draw and start engine after jumping for 30 seconds.
It is sounds like the block heater is dead. Glow plug problems could be 1. relay 2. glow plugs 3. glow plug connections.
It should start with either the block heater or the glow plugs working.

#5 ·
glow plugs or not, it shouldn't take minutes to start. what have the temps been? make sure when you do use starter fluid that you disarm the glowplugs. I'm still trying to figure out the smoke. change your fuel filter because you should do that anyway. check oil just to make sure.

#6 ·
How old are the batteries? I was having trouble with mine - changed the batteries (yes, both of them) - no more problems even with single digit temperatures. I was told that this engine needs to turn at some minimum speed before it will start, my old batteries just weren't up to the job.

#7 ·