99 7.3 HELP!!no start, no wts, no power to fuel pump - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-18-2011, 08:11 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
99 7.3 HELP!!no start, no wts, no power to fuel pump

Ive checked all fuses under hood and under dash, Ive allways been able to fix this problem be disconnecting fuel bowl heater but this isn't the case. Ive checked ignition-seems ok, checked the fuel shut off. What else???
O ya I also have no tach movement. Pump runs when I hook it up direct.
Im about out of Ideas. pcm???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-18-2011, 10:12 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
hello is anybody there, please help

I disconnected the fuel pump and tested the wires, red has 6 volts which is probably standby voltage with the key on until pcm grounds pump????(i don't know)

Help me my brains is smoking
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-18-2011, 10:44 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,891
Thanks: 1
Thanked 90 Times in 85 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
You have no WTS which is a good indication that the PCM isn't running. You have checked all the fuses (especially #30-22-19) and you're SURE they're all good?

It will Never start until you get the PCM up again. Is the truck "chipped"? Have you checked the PCM connection at the firewall? Is there power through-out the Fuse panel? (especially the PCM related fuses?)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-18-2011, 02:06 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have power at all the fuses so says my test light, the truch is completely stock, all connections good, seems like injectors not opening and no power to the pump(6v). Bad pcm has to be the answer it would explain wts light, no tach movement, no power to pump(well 6v).seems like pcm should be grounding and sending currents that are missing??? Truck wont run if fuel pump is wired directly-Thats why I believe injectors are not functioning, so basically everything that the pcm would monitor and control doesn't work. I just want to be sure before spending anymore money
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-18-2011, 03:06 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,891
Thanks: 1
Thanked 90 Times in 85 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Well, it's a call I don't want to make But, I certainly follow your reasoning.....

With a pin-out of the PCMs connector, could you verify it was being powered and grounded?

To limit the damages, have you looked at eBay for a refurb?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-19-2011, 05:51 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
well I have a buddy gonna bring in his snap-on scanner over this afternoon see if we can't get some surity
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 01-19-2011, 07:15 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wright City, MO
Posts: 2,736
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Unplug your fuel bowl heater and leave it unplugged. Replace fuse #30. Yes, I know it tested good. Replace it anyways. It'll take 20 seconds. I've had fuses test good before when they're actually bad. Big pain in the ***.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 01-19-2011, 09:08 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ok I did it anyways no luck
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 01-19-2011, 09:10 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I just took pcm off to make sure it didn't have a chip or anything and nope its factory. I wish I knew someone that had a pcm I could try before going and buying one
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 01-19-2011, 09:12 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If it had a chip in it it would be coming out the back of it where the black plug is right??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors