ran out of oil - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 Old 11-26-2010, 07:47 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
psychonat69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ran out of oil

I've got a 2000 7.3 and I went to start it and it fired up and I walked away then it died. tried to start again and it sputtered and died. pulled codes and got p1212 p1248 p0470. that brought me to check my oil and there was nothing on the stick. looked under the truck and oil dripping from a rusted through oil pan. f**k! we just got 4" of snow and its out side.

My questions are do I have to manually fill my HPOP
does any one think I might have damaged anything else?

Of coarse I will fix the leak and change Oil I don't think the truck was right out of Oil. but I haven't done anything yet cause I don't have the Oil put back yet.

Thanks for the help
psychonat69 is offline  
post #2 of 15 Old 11-26-2010, 08:21 AM
Serving Our Country!
 
JSchuricht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manor, TX
Posts: 2,969
Thanks: 0
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
The HPOP will fill as soon as you start cranking. Getting the air out may take a lot of cranking and driving ~50 miles.

One of the good things about a HUEI injection system is if you don't have oil, you can't inject fuel so there is a vary good chance that you will be fine just by adding oil and fixing the leak.

JSchuricht is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 11-26-2010, 02:37 PM
Johnny Law Brown

 
jc82chevyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Tipton, IN
Posts: 366
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Agreed you probably didn't tear anything up considering these things hold 5 gal of oil, secondly it is very important to check the oil on these regurlarly as they developed leaks all of the time, and the rust on the oil pan ford has a TSB out on that issue


2002 F-250 IH 444E
AFE Stage II
GTP38R
4" TB exhaust
35" BF Goodies
1995 F-250 IH 444E
jc82chevyman is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 11-26-2010, 04:47 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
psychonat69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ya thanks. I do check my oil all the time. I had just checked the oil the day before. cause I knew of the oil pan leak. I actually have a new pan but we just had a baby and i haven't had the time to pull the engine. now I guess the tome is going to have to be made.
psychonat69 is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 11-26-2010, 04:54 PM
If it aint a CAT itsa DOG

 
dieseldan2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Branch, MN
Posts: 4,553
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Here is a video of a new pan patch that these guys came out with. I don't know if anyone has tried it, but it might be worth a shot. Its better than pulling the engine to replace the whole pan. Its a 2 part video on you tube.

YouTube - 7.3 Ford Rusted Oil Pan Repair Kit (1of 2)

Diesel Dan

10,000 LAKES CHAPTER MEMBER


2003 F350 Crew cab long box, FX4, 6.0, torqshift, Lariat.
dieseldan2005 is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 11-26-2010, 05:00 PM
duct tape & zip ties

 
bigcountrysg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willis, MI
Posts: 10,761
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
Who says you have to pull the engine to replace the oil pan?


Your Actions Today, Decide Your Future Tomorrow

2005 6.0 Crew Cab Long Box Lariat, current truck

2004 6.0 destroyed by contaminated fuel

2002 7.3L burnt
bigcountrysg is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 11-26-2010, 05:08 PM
If it aint a CAT itsa DOG

 
dieseldan2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Branch, MN
Posts: 4,553
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Well most guys on here say the proper way to do it is to pull the engine and let the pan sit on the block upside down to seal properly. My dealer says they can do it in with the engine in, but i don't have much faith in them lately. I am only repeating what techs have said on here.

Diesel Dan

10,000 LAKES CHAPTER MEMBER


2003 F350 Crew cab long box, FX4, 6.0, torqshift, Lariat.
dieseldan2005 is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 11-26-2010, 05:15 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: hudson, fl
Posts: 3,172
Thanks: 10
Thanked 17 Times in 14 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dieseldan2005 View Post
Here is a video of a new pan patch that these guys came out with. I don't know if anyone has tried it, but it might be worth a shot. Its better than pulling the engine to replace the whole pan. Its a 2 part video on you tube.

YouTube - 7.3 Ford Rusted Oil Pan Repair Kit (1of 2)
Ok just watched this, i hope this is a joke.. Ok it might not leak, but what about all the degrading metal from the crusty pan thats still in there putting particles into the oil.


2000 DRW CC 7.3
Exterior: 08 Exterior Clone, 22.5's
Engine Mods: GTP38R WW2, 5 inch exhaust,T500, 6637, TW tunes,DI Up pipes, 6.7 fuel pump fuel system.
Trans Mods: 6.0 trans cooler, JW Valve body,Billet triple disc converter.
Sound Mods: 7" flip out tv, 3-way speakers all around, 12" sub, 500 watt amp.
Misc:dieselsite coolant filter, max ac assist, BRV, IHD,gauges, CCV

Next up power rear window
campbellflage is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 11-26-2010, 05:30 PM
If it aint a CAT itsa DOG

 
dieseldan2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Branch, MN
Posts: 4,553
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I dunno. This was posted a while back and i figured i would put it up again. I haven't heard anything good or bad about this patch.

Diesel Dan

10,000 LAKES CHAPTER MEMBER


2003 F350 Crew cab long box, FX4, 6.0, torqshift, Lariat.
dieseldan2005 is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 11-28-2010, 07:54 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
psychonat69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
well I just finished changing my pan. I don't know who started the rumor that you can change the pan without pulling the engine cause I fing tried. It was ever so close but I couldn't do it without braking something. I even removed the turbo and there isn't enough room. I also read that you should pull the trany back, but if you are going that far you might as well pull the engine. I pulled the engine and flipped it to do the job. its done now and back in and running. it did take a lot of cranking to get it started.

thanks to all that helped me.
psychonat69 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome