TC unlocking then locking repeatedly - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-14-2010, 10:38 PM
Chapter Director
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 2,215
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
TC unlocking then locking repeatedly

when im cruising on the freeway with CC on after a while it will kick off then as i keep driving at the same speed the TC will unlock. get back into the throttle and it locks back up. When the Throttle is held constant or the speed is constant is when it unlocks. but any change in throttle or speed and it locks back up,

what could cause this? TPS? speed sensor? ive checked codes and didnt get anything.

i need this issue resolved within the next 2 weeks because i need to make a trip with the truck.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-14-2010, 11:52 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Riverside/Norco, Ca
Posts: 3,771
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
want an easy fix? wire up a t/c lock up switch.. ha i got one it works nice for sure.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 11-15-2010, 03:11 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Lockport IL
Posts: 4,295
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
Send a message via AIM to dereku
well I hope you dont have this issue. But that happened to me both times I blew my trans. This last time it was just the TC so I got lucky.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 11-15-2010, 09:55 AM
Chapter Director
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 2,215
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It better not be my trans! I've had the trans in and out of this truck 4times since march this year. Finally got tired of fixing it and put in a BTS.

I thought about just Doing a tc lockup switch but that's not going to fix my cruise control.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 11-15-2010, 02:56 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Lockport IL
Posts: 4,295
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
Send a message via AIM to dereku
Call up brian he will help you for sure. I have a BTS I blew it twice.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 11-15-2010, 05:48 PM
Chapter Director
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 2,215
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yea i called him last time this was happening and i thought i had it resolved, it was only doing it with the chip on now it does it all the time.

i will give him a call again tomorow. last time he said it didnt sound like its the TC itself but either a tuning issue or another issue with the truck.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 11-16-2010, 06:08 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 209
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Had an issue like this on a gas Dodge Durango. Turned out to be the throttle position sensor.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 11-16-2010, 07:51 AM
Chapter Director
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 2,215
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yea that's my guess because whatever it is in linked with the cc.

Does Anyone know where I could get a cheap one?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 11-16-2010, 02:21 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wellington Nevada
Posts: 8,580
Thanks: 1
Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Pull the chip..see if it shifts ok.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 11-16-2010, 02:43 PM
Chapter Director
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 2,215
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I did that's why you have my chip to be reburnt... It used to only do it with the chip in now it is doing it all the time.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors