Very interesting issue - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-29-2010, 12:12 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Outside of Philadelphia
Posts: 245
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
Send a message via AIM to sandm849 Send a message via Yahoo to sandm849
Exclamation Very interesting issue

Ok so the truck I am referring to is the one in my signature. I bought a dp f5 chip off of a user here and sent it to dp to have it reburned for my PCM and also have a couple of tunes put in. Installed the chip making sure to thoroughly clean the PCM contacts where the chip goes. Truck starts and drives fine in all positions until I turn on my headlights. Yea I know sounds crazy. Sometimes I get the water in fuel light, glow plug light, and ses light. I also lose all pedal response for roughly five seconds. Sometimes it will stall the truck. If I flash my high beams it does the same thing and also stalls the truck usually. I flashed somebody on the highway the other day and my truck died. So this is a dangerous situation. Also I do have an hid conversion on this truck that has been on it since I bought it. These problems seemed to start right after the chip install. Like I said all is good until I turn on my headlights and it isn't all of the time. I'm planning on taking out the chip this week to see if that problem goes away. I did pull codes and I had p0605 Icm Rom error on the koeo test. p1396 glow plug monitor bank two and p0603 icm kam error as memory codes. Any ideas? I was thinking something along the lines of rf interference or a bad diode in the alternator causing feedback since it's when I turn on my headlights but idk. Or possibly a corrupt file in the chip? I contacted dp late yesterday so hopefully they will have an idea. Figured the more input the better. I used to work at a ford dealership on diesels in the 6.0 era but this one has me scratching my head for ideas.
Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 09-29-2010, 09:58 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Outside of Philadelphia
Posts: 245
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
Send a message via AIM to sandm849 Send a message via Yahoo to sandm849
Well took out the chip and no more problem. Double checked my terminals on the PCM and look as they should.

Just talked to dp. They have seen ground issues with the hids cause this problem as well as the cable for the chip. Will get around to looking at it late this week or mid next week. Will post updates if anybody is interested.

Last edited by sandm849; 09-29-2010 at 10:29 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 10-01-2010, 05:28 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Please do - I am concerned a bit since I have HID's and a DP F5 coming to me Monday.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 10-01-2010, 05:44 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Outside of Philadelphia
Posts: 245
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
Send a message via AIM to sandm849 Send a message via Yahoo to sandm849
What kind of hids do you have. I have ddm slim 35w in mine. Grounded one of the wires that figured may be the problem but did not fix it. Looking into a couple more things next week.

^^^make sure all of your grounds are excellent as they have seen this cause this problem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 10-07-2010, 04:01 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Outside of Philadelphia
Posts: 245
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
Send a message via AIM to sandm849 Send a message via Yahoo to sandm849
Well no solution yet. If just the chip is in the PCM with no cable I have zero problems. Installed a new cable today and still have the problem. Tried it with the switcher disconnected and problem is still there. So chip installed no cable=ok. New or old cable with switcher or not=problems. Dp still trying to find a solution for me. Any ideas people??

Voltone. How did your stuff work out??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 10-10-2010, 06:07 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Outside of Philadelphia
Posts: 245
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
Send a message via AIM to sandm849 Send a message via Yahoo to sandm849
Anybody? I have a couple more things to try but so far no solutions from dp or otherwise.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 10-11-2010, 03:38 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I would suspect a ground problem. Check a wiring diagram and see if there is a common ground between the headlamps and the PCM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 10-11-2010, 03:47 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
G100 is a common ground shared by the pcm and the headlamps, I would start there.

G100 engine compartment, rear, LH side - Gasoline engines
G100 engine compartment, rear, LH side - Diesel engines
G101 engine compartment, LH side
G102 engine, RH side
G104 engine compartment, right fender
G105 engine compartment, front, LH side
G106 engine compartment, RH side, on frame rail
G108 engine compartment, RH side - Gasoline engines
G108 engine compartment, RH side - Diesel engines
G109 engine compartment, LH side
G111 engine, top
G200 behind dash panel, center
G201 behind dash panel, center
G202 behind dash panel, center
G203 under dash panel, RH side
G300 LH A-pillar, behind trim panel
G301 Vehicle interior, LH side, after C-pillar
G400 vehicle underbody, rear, chassis side member, LH side
G403 RH D-pillar
G900 LH C-pillar
G901 vehicle rear end, roof
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 10-12-2010, 05:56 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Outside of Philadelphia
Posts: 245
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
Send a message via AIM to sandm849 Send a message via Yahoo to sandm849
Thanks for the ground info
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors