Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

The Possessed PowerStroke. Mechanic needs Help Part 2

2K views 26 replies 6 participants last post by  sbluke55 
#1 ·
So..... I will start with testing EVERYTHING. This truck didn't run when I bought it, because I'm an awesome shadetree mechanic. Till this thing showed up at my shop. First it was the ipr not holding pressure, pull it apart and the actuator pin is missing. 😐 Second was the rebuilt injectors that were installed before I got it, #3 was blowing oil out the side because the rebuilds didn't tighten the poppet screws.😲 so no hpop pressure again. WTS light wont come on..... someone screwed up the fuse box because the fuse would fall out, looks like they push 10penny nails in the fuse. 🤡 Fixed. Also they spliced in a steering column🤕! So I'm thinking after I fix that, this thing will run! Haha🤣, wrong. Fuel pressure is 0. Find the plug for pc m corroded. Cleaned it. Crank? Negative sucker. So let's pull the IDM. Yes!! Oh look, water. So junkyard saves me again. Install new to me IDM, no, still don't like you enough to crank. Fuse 22 no power again. Replace fuse. Still waiting on OBD Bluetooth to show up. She cranks! But fuel pressure is 22-24psi and it sounds like a bad exhaust valve. Pull fuel relay, yes this is where I posted the 1st time, because she ran great. For as few minutes till it ran out of fuel😓 Pressure relief is my problem. No and yes. When I pull it, the cap breaks. Not the threads, but the inside that pushes the spring. Build a spring holder out of a set screw with 3 sides grinded so fuel can flow at set pressure. Still 22psi. Air test the fuel system holds at 60 easy😁 So A Holley blue fuel pump with a modified internal pressure relief put inline with stock pump should work, right?🤣🤣🤣🤣 Access Denied. Wont crank with 65psi fuel pressure. Disconnect pump2 and bleed to 20, truck fires right up.... ok? Fuse in pump2 and pressure up to 65, dies. So put a push button on pump to find the sweet spot. Nope again.