Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

01 7.3 F250 need help

2K views 15 replies 4 participants last post by  j.osbourn 
#1 ·
HI everyone,
I just recently bought my first diesel truck so I'm new to all this. I have been pouring over forums and posts for days now.. I have a 2001 F250 7.3 with 220k on it. Heres what happens. When you start from a full stop, the truck shifts firm from 1-2, then 2-3 from 3 to convertor lock up it gets soft and by the time it gets to 4 it slides in. If you're in 3rd before lock up,it will not shift unless you either push the throttle harder. Now while all of this is going on, the truck never boosts over 12 psi(WOT). How do you get an overboost code at 12 PSI? Some other numbers my EBP PSI is 15 while idling, never goes above 19-20 when driving. I also have no take off power and boost never gets over 5-7 on take off. once running 60mph I have no acceleration and will not build boost unless I lean heavy on the throttle either. I have check and tighted my CAC hoses and adressed the ebp sensor plugged up. my MAP and EBP psi are both 15 when not running with key on and mirror one another as I drive. yet I still pop and occasional ebp circuit malfunction code. I believe it is p0470. I also randomly get p1248 and p1211 codes though not often and usually only when I am near WOT. I have checked the compessor wheel also, it's clean, not worn, spins freely, and has very very little shaft play. I'm running a ts6 and an edge insight monitoring system. Please help I have seen many posts similar but no one seems to have posted the solution as of yet.

Thank you

See less See more
#6 ·
Have you looked for pre turbo exhaust leaks? If you aren't seeing EBP that would make sense to me...

Oil temp on mine gets to around 150° and stays there. I live in Wisconsin and haven't towed heavy, but I wouldn't worry about the oil temp. If you are saying the heater won't blow warm, that's a different issue.

Making a boost leak checker may be another good option?