GUAGE HELP - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 Old 03-07-2009, 04:43 PM Thread Starter
Emergency Services

 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: W.V.
Posts: 1,674
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
GUAGE HELP/DASH MOD

just installed the f650 dash mod. my in/out temp. guage has two wire for the dimmer control, and i dont know which wires to tap into. instructions say:
orange 12v ignition switched feed for hi backlight
blue 12v instrument panel lamp circuit feed for low backlight


anybody know where to hook these up at, and yes this is worthless without pics, but i've worked on it for about 5 hrs, after work, im tired and hungry. i will post pics tomm. when its daylight, thanks


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by 19558077; 03-08-2009 at 05:04 PM.
19558077 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 03-08-2009, 05:02 PM Thread Starter
Emergency Services

 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: W.V.
Posts: 1,674
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
got some pics today. cut three bottom gauge holes for when i can afford them, which looks like not anytime soon. i have to get one more plug and paint it, there was only two plugs in town i could find. the switches are just a tad crooked, i didnt have anyone to hold the switch cutter.the strobe switch operates my hideaway's on low, and the hideaways, and dash light on high. the work light switch will operate an auxilary back up light, and i put a spare switch for later on.




To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
19558077 is offline  
post #3 of 20 Old 03-08-2009, 08:49 PM Thread Starter
Emergency Services

 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: W.V.
Posts: 1,674
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
seriously nobody!!!!!!!!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
19558077 is offline  
post #4 of 20 Old 03-08-2009, 09:32 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
ford_trck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vail, AZ
Posts: 4,508
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to ford_trck
I have no idea but here is a bump for ya

Early 99 F-350 CC LB 6-speed
Stock with mods

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CloverLeafFarm View Post
Hey Ross, after talking with you i did some research and seems like you chose the right path to go, i knew you were a super genius!
Ross
ford_trck is offline  
post #5 of 20 Old 03-09-2009, 01:20 PM Thread Starter
Emergency Services

 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: W.V.
Posts: 1,674
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
19558077 is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 03-09-2009, 05:42 PM
Once you go black......

 
CanadianDiesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,514
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to CanadianDiesel
Free bump. So you need the gauge backlight wire to tap into a wire for the instrument cluster? like when you turn the lights on? And then what do you need for the backups?

Then & Now

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Matt
'99 F-350 4x4 7.3L
6637, 4", chip; far too many upgrades to list.
Coming soon: Rigid Industries Lighting, Nav, On-Board Air.
Latest mods: Line-X, '08 Black Leather Captain Seats (Lariat), Trans, EGT and Turbo Gauges; TS chip, Chrome Delete.

02 VW Jetta TDI - 40mpg
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
CanadianDiesel is offline  
post #7 of 20 Old 03-09-2009, 05:45 PM Thread Starter
Emergency Services

 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: W.V.
Posts: 1,674
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i just need to rewire the backups, to do away with the relay i screwed up somehow. yes, i do need the dimmer/backlight for the temp gauge. it comes on at startup but then goes off. i dont know where to tap into


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
19558077 is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 03-09-2009, 05:48 PM
Once you go black......

 
CanadianDiesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,514
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to CanadianDiesel
Hmm...sorta stumped for that one...but all the guys with gauges on here should know that one
I'll have to do this when I get my gauges so hopefully someone comes along.

But wiring the backups should be fine right
CanadianDiesel is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 03-09-2009, 05:57 PM Thread Starter
Emergency Services

 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: W.V.
Posts: 1,674
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yeah, for some reason im not getting 12v out to the light, so im gonna do away with the relay since its only one 55watt light.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
19558077 is offline  
post #10 of 20 Old 03-09-2009, 06:27 PM Thread Starter
Emergency Services

 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: W.V.
Posts: 1,674
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
sorry to take so long to respond, im trying to do some insurance claims. if i find something out i will let you know. i like my strobe switch with hi and low. on low i just have the hideaway's on. and on hi i have the hideaways, and the strobe dash light. good luck


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
19558077 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome