GUAGE HELP - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-07-2009, 03:43 PM
Emergency Services

 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: W.V.
Posts: 1,671
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
GUAGE HELP/DASH MOD

just installed the f650 dash mod. my in/out temp. guage has two wire for the dimmer control, and i dont know which wires to tap into. instructions say:
orange 12v ignition switched feed for hi backlight
blue 12v instrument panel lamp circuit feed for low backlight


anybody know where to hook these up at, and yes this is worthless without pics, but i've worked on it for about 5 hrs, after work, im tired and hungry. i will post pics tomm. when its daylight, thanks

Last edited by 19558077; 03-08-2009 at 04:04 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-08-2009, 04:02 PM
Emergency Services

 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: W.V.
Posts: 1,671
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
got some pics today. cut three bottom gauge holes for when i can afford them, which looks like not anytime soon. i have to get one more plug and paint it, there was only two plugs in town i could find. the switches are just a tad crooked, i didnt have anyone to hold the switch cutter.the strobe switch operates my hideaway's on low, and the hideaways, and dash light on high. the work light switch will operate an auxilary back up light, and i put a spare switch for later on.


Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-08-2009, 07:49 PM
Emergency Services

 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: W.V.
Posts: 1,671
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
seriously nobody!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-08-2009, 08:32 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vail, AZ
Posts: 4,507
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to ford_trck
I have no idea but here is a bump for ya
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-09-2009, 12:20 PM
Emergency Services

 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: W.V.
Posts: 1,671
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-09-2009, 04:42 PM
Once you go black......

 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to CanadianDiesel
Free bump. So you need the gauge backlight wire to tap into a wire for the instrument cluster? like when you turn the lights on? And then what do you need for the backups?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-09-2009, 04:45 PM
Emergency Services

 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: W.V.
Posts: 1,671
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i just need to rewire the backups, to do away with the relay i screwed up somehow. yes, i do need the dimmer/backlight for the temp gauge. it comes on at startup but then goes off. i dont know where to tap into
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-09-2009, 04:48 PM
Once you go black......

 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to CanadianDiesel
Hmm...sorta stumped for that one...but all the guys with gauges on here should know that one
I'll have to do this when I get my gauges so hopefully someone comes along.

But wiring the backups should be fine right
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 03-09-2009, 04:57 PM
Emergency Services

 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: W.V.
Posts: 1,671
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yeah, for some reason im not getting 12v out to the light, so im gonna do away with the relay since its only one 55watt light.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 03-09-2009, 05:27 PM
Emergency Services

 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: W.V.
Posts: 1,671
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
sorry to take so long to respond, im trying to do some insurance claims. if i find something out i will let you know. i like my strobe switch with hi and low. on low i just have the hideaway's on. and on hi i have the hideaways, and the strobe dash light. good luck
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors