Double Din head unit don't fit - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-13-2008, 07:05 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Knoxville, TN Area
Posts: 544
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Double Din head unit don't fit

I bought a Kennwood Double Din size head unti and it doesn't fit. The mounting hardware is way too tall, like 1/2 an inch, and the accual head unit is just a bit smaller and I am not about to cut up my dash to try and make it fit.

WTF?!?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-13-2008, 07:21 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: murfreesboro TN.
Posts: 887
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
it'll fit with very little trimming...mine did

you have to get creative with securing the unit but it's no big deal.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-13-2008, 10:54 AM
OperationSmile.org

 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Phoenix AZ/Franklin TN
Posts: 2,011
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'd like to know about this also cause I will be buying a DD unit in the near future.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 12-13-2008, 11:08 AM
Emergency Services

 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Lawton, OK
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ford did not go to a true double din radio until the 2005 model year in 2003 they were a din and a half.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 12-13-2008, 02:34 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vienna, VA
Posts: 469
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
yeah sorry I have to agree with above poster you either have to cut your dash or buy a 1.5 din or single din headunit. i know it sucks i went through hell and back trying to figure out which one i wanted after i realized ford used a screwed up system. also dont wanna sound like a d!ick but thats why you research first, (measure twice cut once)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 12-13-2008, 08:09 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Knoxville, TN Area
Posts: 544
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I measured it a few months go and i thought it measured out right for a dd. Does anyone have any pics of a dd in an early superduty? Or pics of what they had to trim?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 12-13-2008, 08:49 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: murfreesboro TN.
Posts: 887
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by siloped View Post
I measured it a few months go and i thought it measured out right for a dd. Does anyone have any pics of a dd in an early superduty? Or pics of what they had to trim?
this is the only pic I have, was proving my truck would run 120 with the lift and tires...lol

just trim the outer dash trim piece to fit over the radio face, mount the radio and then snap the dash trim back on. it's really easy.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 12-13-2008, 08:55 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Easton, CT
Posts: 669
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ill try and take a few pics of mine tomorrow. i have a clairon dd its a 7in display in an 04 it was also in my 01 all i had to do was file the inside plastic a bit and it fit right back nice and tight. didnt remove anything.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 12-14-2008, 04:04 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Knoxville, TN Area
Posts: 544
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Well I got it in. Its kinda wedged in there for now. We trimed the mounting braket and the dash trim and it good for now, since I alteast got a cd player that works. I would still like to see pics for future refrence, when I touch it back up.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 12-14-2008, 04:09 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Tucson,AZ
Posts: 2,191
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
when i did mine had to modify my dash quite a bit this is how mine turned out






Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors