06 radio in an 03 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old 01-27-2014, 09:08 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Nifty2Fifty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 240
Thanks: 2
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
06 radio in an 03

Hey all, I'm posting for a friend here. I still have my OEM radio from my 06 laying around, and I'm wondering if it will fit in an 03. I've heard that it may not work, but just looking for some input from the org. Thanks in advance!



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


2006 Ford F-250 6.0L
XDP Coolant Filter System - Bluespring Upgrade
Bushwhacker Pocket Style fender flares, Herculiner down the rockers
MBRP 4" Turbo back Exhaust
Nifty2Fifty is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 01-27-2014, 10:48 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Posts: 167
Thanks: 1
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It shouldn't be too difficult as long as you still have the plug that goes into the 06. Using that along with an aftermarket wiring kit you could connect the appropriate wires together and retain the plug and play aspect while keeping in reversable.
Will335i is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 01-27-2014, 03:17 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Nifty2Fifty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Northern Illinois
Posts: 240
Thanks: 2
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Will335i View Post
It shouldn't be too difficult as long as you still have the plug that goes into the 06. Using that along with an aftermarket wiring kit you could connect the appropriate wires together and retain the plug and play aspect while keeping in reversable.
Ah alright, so no issues as far fitting? Doesn't hurt to try anyway I guess. Thanks for the input.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


2006 Ford F-250 6.0L
XDP Coolant Filter System - Bluespring Upgrade
Bushwhacker Pocket Style fender flares, Herculiner down the rockers
MBRP 4" Turbo back Exhaust
Nifty2Fifty is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 01-27-2014, 03:23 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Posts: 167
Thanks: 1
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
That I do not know. I would assume you have to do some trimming to the dash cover like you would if you were installing an aftermarket double din. You might have to fab something up to mount it in the stock location too.

Truefully it would probably be easier to do a nice aftermarket. You can even get the one from Parrot that you can run the Torque app on. Plus it will improve the sound in your truck.
Will335i is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 01-28-2014, 02:39 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Kaneohe, HI and Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 929
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Will335i View Post
You can even get the one from Parrot that you can run the Torque app on.
excuse the ignorance but who is parrot?

Early 99 crew cab long bed SRW
Vegistroke V3.
Support Grease Mafia on Facebook
erbilabuc is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 01-28-2014, 06:01 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Indy
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I dont know how you would mount the newer style head unit? The early radio uses spring pins to hold it in, and the later models bolt in and you remove a dash panel to get to those bolts. I have a CD changer from a 06, but it's much larger than my stock unit. I'm going aftermarket because nobody makes an install kit to mount a newer stock radio and I don't want to cobble something together. Also, wiring adaptation works differently because I don't have any wires coming out of the 06 radio and nobody sells that plug in kit form,so I would have to cut a factory harness at some point to make one, so I would need to find a donor car.

Last edited by Fastback; 01-28-2014 at 06:05 AM.
Fastback is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 01-28-2014, 09:10 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Posts: 167
Thanks: 1
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Head unit:
http://www.amazon.com/Parrot-Navigation-Multimedia-Hands-Free-Bluetooth/dp/B00A6UTZ32/ref=sr_1_2?s=automotive&ie=UTF8&qid=1390928819&sr=1-2&keywords=parrot+head+unit
Torque app:
http://www.powerstroke.org/forum/99-...pp-photos.html
Will335i is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 01-28-2014, 12:28 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Indy
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Man, thats nice but expensive. I just put a Pioneer 2600BT in my wife's Milan, those can connect with iPhone and even show the maps on the screen while moving, but no motor feedback. But, for under $250 I think I would have enough money left over for a dedicated gauge...maybe?

Android does not play so well with Pioneer unfortunately.
Fastback is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 01-29-2014, 12:52 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Posts: 167
Thanks: 1
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have a pioneer in my truck. I kind of wish I had known about the Parrot because now I am trying to source a Android phone or tablet, unfortunately my rooted nook doesn't work, to run the Torque pro app. A full set of gauges and all the sensors is going to run you around $500. While the torque app can't do everything it would get me buy until I went to an Edge insight. I never really liked the idea of a ton of gauges all over the place but thats just me.
Will335i is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 01-29-2014, 01:20 AM
Premium Member
 
Macon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3,804
Thanks: 3
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fastback View Post
I dont know how you would mount the newer style head unit? The early radio uses spring pins to hold it in, and the later models bolt in and you remove a dash panel to get to those bolts. I have a CD changer from a 06, but it's much larger than my stock unit. I'm going aftermarket because nobody makes an install kit to mount a newer stock radio and I don't want to cobble something together. Also, wiring adaptation works differently because I don't have any wires coming out of the 06 radio and nobody sells that plug in kit form,so I would have to cut a factory harness at some point to make one, so I would need to find a donor car.

???????????

I have an aftermarket stereo. It's held in with screws (the same screw that held in the OEM deck), just like every other factory and aftermarket system. Aftermarkets might be spring loaded into a model specific frame, but that frame is mounted with screws.

As for fit, we have a 1.5din hole, '05+ have a 2din hole. It will fit, but you have to trim. If you want something that fits without trimming, buy something that's 1.5din. There are plenty of options.

You may have wiring difficulty, but it's nothing you can't figure out with a little bit of research.

2002 F250 CCSB 4x4
PHP Phoenix, John Woods VB, NUC bypass, 6637

"No country can be called free which is governed by an absolute power;
and it matters not whether it be an absolute royal power or an absolute
legislative power, as the consequences will be the same to the people."

--Thomas Paine, Four Letters on Interesting Subjects, 1776
Macon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome