Stock to Double DIN Radio - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 12-21-2013, 09:50 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 42
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Stock to Double DIN Radio

Hello all! I searched the threads for an answer to this, but couldn't find what I was looking for.

I have an 02 F350 with the stock CD/Cassette radio unit. I've read that if you install a double DIN unit you will need to do "some modding". How much modding?

I HATE dash work, I'm more of a nuts and bolts person. Some folks who like dash work might think something is simple, where I would consider it an exercise in frustration.

Does anyone have good intel on how difficult the mods would be to put in a double DIN unit in the stock opening?

I'm not doing any other work on amps, speakers, etc. I never turn it up beyond a volume that would inhibit conversation in the cab anyway, so stock speakers is just fine with me. But that cassette slot staring at me says old. Really, all I want is a unit with Bluetooth to connect my phone to.

Thanks all for any info on the mods needed to install a double DIN unit!
Generok is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 12-21-2013, 09:54 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
STANGMAN893's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: NEW WINDSOR
Posts: 710
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You have to trim the dash bezel around the radio. The new unit will snap onto the bezel around the radio.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
STANGMAN893 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 12-21-2013, 10:32 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
schlutzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Stratford, Ontario
Posts: 2,438
Thanks: 34
Thanked 138 Times in 122 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I havent done it yet but I did research on it... it seems fairly painless ( I too hate interior work even though I've rewired my entire interior).

You buy a mount kit made for these trucks ( $20 or so) and get the dremel out then you're done

Please check out my 7.3 Enthusiast Facebook group! All are welcome!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
schlutzer is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 12-21-2013, 10:52 AM
Serving Our Country!
 
alaskan155's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,128
Thanks: 11
Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
option 1
right now you have a din and a 1.5 so you just need to open the bottom of the hole and the top of the hole a little bit, a dremal with a sanding wheel will work. you basically just grind untell the new cage fits.

option 2
swap in a 05-07 upper dash/entire dash. a little harder but the factory din is a double din and the modification are behind the panal(if you just swap the upper part.

2002 F250 7.3/JW Tow master 4r100 206k miles
Mods:explorer heater valve, WR GP relay, RiffRAff boots, lariat overhead console, Hydra chip, 6637 mod, 6.0 cooler, AIH delete and isspro2 trans, egt, and boost gauges. 92 gallon aux tank with a total capacity of 130gallons, 1800 mile range
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
, 4" MBRP straight Piped. 2" Warrior shackles

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
alaskan155 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 12-21-2013, 01:55 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 42
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks all, sounds easy enough. If I had a garage long enough to park all 21.3 feet in, I'd do it next weekend. Otherwise it'll have to wait until I go to the Auto Hobby Shop for oil change, or spring in the driveway.
Generok is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 12-21-2013, 04:14 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
Posts: 482
Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
I did it to my 99 a while back. From what I remember, it was some minor bezel sanding, and a good whack with a mallet tot he metal support around the dash and it slid right in.. Pretty easy mod if my memory serves...

UrbanKnight is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome