Can u hook up OBD2 to a touch screen stereo - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-02-2013, 10:44 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Can u hook up OBD2 to a touch screen stereo

I would like to view my trucks gauges though a new touch screen stereo. Can this be done, and if so what do I need? Thanks guys.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-29-2013, 12:44 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Alabama, Montgomery area
Posts: 4,173
Thanks: 234
Thanked 50 Times in 45 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
im gonna this up cause this would be awesome if it were possible!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-29-2013, 02:08 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3,784
Thanks: 3
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Short answer, no.

Long answer, yes. It would just require someone to get into the stereo firmware, and create a new version with all of the code needed to translate the PCM output into something you can read. After that happens (without destroying the radio portion of the firmware), a new GUI would need to be created so that the radio can display all of this new information. Once all that tricky smart man stuff is done, the OBDII port would have to be adapted to something the stereo can use, such as a USB. That's easy enough, and creating the drivers needed isn't complicated for someone that can do the rest of the stuff above.

An alternative to all of that would be things already on the market. Edge, DP Tuner, or even a blue tooth OBDII dongle and appropriate app for an iPod.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-29-2013, 02:15 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Alabama, Montgomery area
Posts: 4,173
Thanks: 234
Thanked 50 Times in 45 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
And there you have it!

If I'm not mistaken, banks has a tuner/radio/nav unit/gauge combo..... Is that correct?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-29-2013, 02:18 AM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manor, TX
Posts: 2,877
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
The simple way of doing that is to use the radio as a video display for something like a Autoenginuity.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 06-29-2013, 02:19 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Alabama, Montgomery area
Posts: 4,173
Thanks: 234
Thanked 50 Times in 45 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Or that...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 06-29-2013, 02:23 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3,784
Thanks: 3
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSchuricht View Post
The simple way of doing that is to use the radio as a video display for something like a Autoenginuity.
Then you run into problems to power whatever the AE is on. Since it's supposed to be electrically separated from the vehicle power, you can't just plug it in to the cigarette lighter.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 06-29-2013, 02:37 AM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manor, TX
Posts: 2,877
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Then use a optically isolated USB adapter or wireless adapter for the AE.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 06-29-2013, 02:41 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3,784
Thanks: 3
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSchuricht View Post
Then use a optically isolated USB adapter or wireless adapter for the AE.
I'm talking about for charging what AE is loaded on. No matter what it is, it needs charged. It can't be charged off the vehicle system or something or another horrible can happen.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 06-29-2013, 02:47 AM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manor, TX
Posts: 2,877
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
The issue is feedback from the vehicle power through a laptop through the AE and back to the PCM. If you isolate that at some point like the USB connection then the loop is broken and you are free to charge it off the vehicle power. There are solutions similar to this in use, often they use bluetooth between the OBD II and specific radio's, IIRC Pioneer is one of the brands in use. The issue with those is support for the enhanced commands that would make it useful on a diesel.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors