Amp Install - Which battery? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 Old 08-14-2012, 09:39 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Amp Install - Which battery?

I'm working on putting an amp and sub (if i can figure out how to make the speaker fit) in my 99 extended cab F250. From my understanding of the battery system it shouldn't make a difference which battery i hook the amp to but I'm asking to make sure. I'd prefer to hook to the passenger side battery. thanks for the help!
Just-In Time is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 08-14-2012, 09:52 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
i_gibson13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 117
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I hook all my stuff up to my driver side battery because its a bigger battery. Not sure if its different on the 7.3s or not. Mine is a 6.0

2005 F-250 xlt 6.0 ccsb
-4.5 inch carli starter lift(front)
-5 inch icon blocks(back)
-Bilstein 5100's
-35x12.5 Nitto Trail Grapplers
-18x9 XD series Monsters
-Harley Headlights HID's
-SCTx3
-Swamps 58v FICM
-Edge Insight CTS
-5" diamond eye exhaust
-Focal Components
-2 MB Quart Shallow Mount Subs
-Upgraded Black Leather
-Astro Auto Start
1994 Thunderbird Super Coupe 5spd
2006 RM 250

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
i_gibson13 is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 08-14-2012, 11:28 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
interesting. not sure if its different either. I'll take the cover off and check the battery size
Just-In Time is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 08-14-2012, 11:46 PM
Serving Our Country!
 
JSchuricht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manor, TX
Posts: 2,975
Thanks: 0
Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Batteries should be the same size. You can hook up to either side.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
JSchuricht is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 08-15-2012, 12:14 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Travelers Rest, SC
Posts: 2,683
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Lowdown89 Send a message via Yahoo to Lowdown89
Quote:
Originally Posted by i_gibson13 View Post
I hook all my stuff up to my driver side battery because its a bigger battery. Not sure if its different on the 7.3s or not. Mine is a 6.0
Has someone replaced the batteries or a battery encore you got the truck? because both batteries shod be the same

Jason, But you can call me Sir!!!



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
2001 F-350 CC Dually~Built and tuned by PHP~572/1161ft lbs fuel only~few LEDs here and there
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
GOPOWERHUNGRY.COM
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Lowdown89 is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 08-15-2012, 03:38 AM
Premium Member
 
Snake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: FL
Posts: 4,716
Thanks: 57
Thanked 94 Times in 75 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSchuricht View Post
Batteries should be the same size. You can hook up to either side.
+1

.........
Snake is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 08-15-2012, 04:10 AM
Member
 
Bouchardtowing's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ither battery will work. I put my fuse blocks in the cab for the amp wiring
Bouchardtowing is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 08-15-2012, 04:51 AM
Member
 
Tman123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Murray, Utah
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Mines hooked up to my drivers side battery. And my amp is under my drivers seat

Travis

The Rig/DD
2002 F-350 Crew Cab Long Bed 7.3L Auto 4x4 230k and counting
Modifications:
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

- MBRP 4" Performance Turbo Back Exhaust
- ZooDad
- DieselSite 203* Thermostat
Tman123 is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 08-15-2012, 04:58 AM
Premium Member
 
Snake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: FL
Posts: 4,716
Thanks: 57
Thanked 94 Times in 75 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Fuse for the amp power wire, and any other accessories, should be as close to the battery as possible (12-18"). If the power wire chafes where it runs through the firewall and shorts to ground, there's nothing to stop the current from the battery to where the short is.
Snake is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 08-17-2012, 04:24 AM
Member
 
Bouchardtowing's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snake View Post
Fuse for the amp power wire, and any other accessories, should be as close to the battery as possible (12-18"). If the power wire chafes where it runs through the firewall and shorts to ground, there's nothing to stop the current from the battery to where the short is.
That is if u install it wrong wires should not chafe if u wrap them properly. Loom electrical tape ext just make sure it's wrapped good n u will b all set
Bouchardtowing is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome