Aftermarket gauges in place of OEM in dash cluster - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-01-2012, 03:36 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nacogdoches, TX
Posts: 11,007
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Aftermarket gauges in place of OEM in dash cluster

Had an idea driving to work today.
One day, when ever I finally build my perfect truck, ground up, I want to do something with gauges. Something perfect and neat.
What about, since the OEM dash cluster just takes up space not really showing anything, taking the certain gauges I want to replace and putting real ones in there?
Ever been done on here?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-01-2012, 05:46 PM
Serving Our Country!

 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 767
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I did that a number of years ago on a Subaru. It was a pain in the butt. Did all Vdo gauges in there, custom warning lights. To be honest it really wasn't worth it.

I ended up building it into a race car and moved most of the gauges from the stock location anyways.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-01-2012, 05:48 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nacogdoches, TX
Posts: 11,007
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm sure it would be a lot harder than I realize.
It'd just be cool to get the actual gauge readings exact there, then probably get an Edge CTS or something like that to do the rest.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-01-2012, 07:13 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manor, TX
Posts: 2,663
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
I have thought about doing that for years. It's not going to be a easy project, the cluster passes the VSS signal to the transmission so you will either need to isolate that portion of the cluster or hide the cluster somewhere. If you have a digital odometer, there are probably some functions needed in that module. There may also be other functions that the truck needs the cluster for, I do know it will start without the cluster.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-01-2012, 07:26 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nacogdoches, TX
Posts: 11,007
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Well I don't mean get rid of it all, but just the particular gauges to replace like fuel level, oil press, volt meter, and ECT. The speedo, odo, and tach are actually accurate.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 06-01-2012, 07:41 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manor, TX
Posts: 2,663
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
That might make it easier. IIRC, the back of the console is tied together by a flexible PCB, check all the traces in the area you want to remove and you should be able to cut it with scissors. I recommend trying this on a spare console.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors