going through the firewall - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old 03-08-2012, 02:02 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
KDRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
going through the firewall

getting ready to do a set of gauges in my truck, was just wondering what the cleanest way to get through the firewall is on these trucks. I was hoping to get lucky and not have to drill but i didn't really see any easy way through. If i end up having to drill whats the best way to seal up the extra room? or should i put a grommet in? any pics would be great... trucks an 03 6 speed
KDRacing is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 03-08-2012, 02:21 PM
Super Moderator


 
SuperCrutyPS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Orangevale, CA
Posts: 14,652
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Thanks: 67
Thanked 412 Times in 397 Posts
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
On my '01, there was a large diameter grommet already there. They (install shop) ran the gauge wires through it. IIRC, it's on the vertical part of the firewall to the left of the brake pedal. In my insulation up there, there is a pull-out piece already cut into the insulation. Just pull out the 'cover' (if you will) and the grommet is behind it.


Owner | Operator: Darryl
My Truck Garage: Ol' Guy
Tow Toy Garage : Pilgrim International 31RE3SLF5
United States Navy - IC2 - '76-'80
SuperCrutyPS is online now  
post #3 of 10 Old 03-08-2012, 02:39 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
KDRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
thanks for the help, ill take another look... maybe i just missed it.
KDRacing is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 03-08-2012, 04:05 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 5,967
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Thanks: 5
Thanked 204 Times in 195 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
If your truck has an Auto trans, there's a plug where the clutch rod goes through firewall, it's a convenient way through....
NoRalPh is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 03-08-2012, 04:12 PM
Super Moderator


 
SuperCrutyPS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Orangevale, CA
Posts: 14,652
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Thanks: 67
Thanked 412 Times in 397 Posts
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
That's probably what mine is then - His is a 6-spd.


Owner | Operator: Darryl
My Truck Garage: Ol' Guy
Tow Toy Garage : Pilgrim International 31RE3SLF5
United States Navy - IC2 - '76-'80
SuperCrutyPS is online now  
post #6 of 10 Old 03-08-2012, 04:23 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
KDRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i was gonna say i went and looked again after work and didn't see anything like what you were talking about... actually i have clutch linkage going through a rather large cut out right were you described lol... so much for that
KDRacing is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 03-14-2012, 10:41 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
On my 2000 there is a large plug under the carpet right where your feet rest. I used it to run my amplifier power wire. Just remove the drivers side kick panel, the plastic panel that runs along the sil and pull the carpet up... can't miss it.

----
2000 F250 4x4 SC Auto 7.3 Powerstroke
- AFE Stage 2 Cold Air Intake
d1ll1gaf is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 03-15-2012, 05:45 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
jdparadee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
on mine, i poked a whole through an existing grommet on the firewall, if i remember correctly its above the brake pedal and almost behind the dash, but still accessible. i used a clothes hanger and a lot of cussing but got wires through for my fog lights. in all honesty i would think it almost easier to drill a new whole out and put a grommet in it, that way you have a fresh whole (however big you desire) to put however many wires through that it can handle.
jdparadee is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 03-25-2012, 08:50 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have a 6 speed and ran into the same issue. I bought a box of grommets and plugs to use. A plug is just a grommet that is filled in. I used one of them because it made for a much better seal. I just poked a hole in it and pulled the wires through. Search amazon for grommets and plugs. The one I bought was $12 with no tax and free shipping. Good luck
Cmonster is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 03-29-2012, 08:43 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 957
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I used a Rotabroach to cut a hole in my firewall. Leaves a nice clean hole, much better than a drill bit or hole saw.
ttyR2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome