Guage Problems - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-28-2010, 10:13 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern, IN
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Guage Problems

I have had my exahaust temp, trans, boost guages in my truck since the day i bought it and theyve worked great. All of the sudden my exhaust guage started messing up and the needle was just going crazy then itd go back to normal but now it would never return to normal so i just disconnected it until i can find the problem. Once i disconnected it my trans temp started doing the same exact thing so i also disconnected this one. my boost has never had a problem.

The only guess i have is i noticed for some reason my cab lights are wired into my guages power wire instead of into my parking light switch could this cause some sort of short in it? Also i want to re route my cab lights to my parking lights even if this isnt the problem does anyone know which wire i can splice on the back on the switch for the parking lights?

Also my truck is an E99. Seems like everythings been going wrong with it lately, any advice ill appreciate. One problem at a time lol..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-28-2010, 11:27 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Would rather be in WY
Posts: 3,782
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What brand are they?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-29-2010, 06:47 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern, IN
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
They are Glowshift's
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 12-29-2010, 06:56 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,177
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Check all of your grounds for the gauges...it's a leading cause of malfunction.

There is a hook up for the cab light harness down in the passenger side kick panel.
Here is a write up I did to install cab lights, but it will help you with re-routing them.

Cab Light Install With Pics

I would highly recommend disconnecting the cab lights from the gauges and hoooking them up to the correct harness
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 12-29-2010, 07:24 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern, IN
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
thanks for the advice! i plan on heading out there today and taking a good look at it all. Also i had a question on your guide. did your cab lights come with an actual harness? Mine does not have one i cant quite remember but i believe all i seen was a simple power and ground wire? no harness no nothing the power wire has just been spliced into other wires
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 12-29-2010, 07:30 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,177
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Yes mine came with a harness, it makes life much easier, as you can plug them in and be done. Are your lights OEM or aftermarket? If you have an overhead console, the plug for the harness is already in the passenger side kick panel. If you don't have an overhead console, pop the passenger side kick panel off and see if you see a thin black plug about 1-1/2"-2" wide there. If it's there the harness will plug right in.

If the lights are OEM, you can usually find the harness on eBay or even get it from the dealer for around the same price.

I don't know much about the aftermarket lights and harnesses.

Good luck, feel free to ask anything else.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 12-29-2010, 07:41 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern, IN
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yeah the truck didnt come with cab lights the guy i bought it from said he bought recon cab lights (which they are) but they did not come with a harness. ive been looking for one everywhere and cant seem to find one becides a oem one and i dont believe that would work with aftermarket lights? thats why i was wondering can i just pull the light switch and splice it into the parking light wire because with no harness i dont know what other options i have becides maybe getting ahold of recon and seeing what they have to say
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 12-29-2010, 10:09 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,177
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I'm not sure if an OEM harness would work or not, my guess would be no. I would contact RECON or Raul@Stealthauto and see if either of them will sell you a harness. If you want to splice into the light switch, that's simple, but I would recommend using a relay so you don't overload anything.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 12-29-2010, 11:02 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern, IN
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
do you know which wire is the parking light wire on the back of the switch? incase i am not able to get a harness. also which relay would you use? ive never done much work with wires its not my strong side as you can see lol...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 12-29-2010, 11:13 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,177
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
If my memory serves me correctly there is a brown and yellow(one for the parks and one does the fogs) wire on the right side of the switch...but it's been a while. The best thing to do to is get a test light or a multimeter and check that way. You can pick a relay up at the local parts store, here is some help with using them: Wiring a Relay for Accessories
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors