king Ranch steering wheel data? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 Old 10-23-2010, 03:39 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Cool king Ranch steering wheel data?

Anyone have the exact function of the wires that come off the clock spring for a 2004 f350 and the truck side for a 2000 lariat? I found a steering wheel and column, tryinh to set it up for my truck with all the controls. Thought I had it wired right. Cruise isn't working
BlackCoyote is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 11-07-2010, 09:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: MS Coast
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I've been working on this as well. Finally figured out the 04 & up (with controls in wheel) use a different ohm signal to trigger the various functions of the cruise control as compared to the 2000. This definetly can be done, I just havent taken the time to figre out which ohm resistors need to be changed out/altered int he newer style cruise control buttons yet. One day.....

2000 F350 SRW Lariat 4x4 CC
300k + miles & just 'broken in'
7.3 L basically stock, best diesel truck I've ever owned!
Bunch of Alpine, MB Quart, JL Audio, Precision Power stereo stuff & Remote Start
4" Stainless Exhaust (turbo-back & straight pipe)
Airaid intake
Shackle leveling kit & factory U/B Springs
Rancho RS9000XL shocks
B&W Gooseneck Hitch
35x12.50 Goodyear Wrangler MT/R's
Ranch Hand Brush Guard
Toolbox & bed full of misc junk
jmt1975 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 11-07-2010, 10:21 PM
Member
 
F450 DRW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The 6.0 used a different speed sensor signal than the earlier trucks and the switch is a printed circuit board instead of the analog type of the earlier trucks. The new switch uses board mounted chip resistors instead of standard resistors. All of the resistor values are completely different between the 2 motors. You can buy the chip resistors from Mouser or Digakey.

Have fun

02 F250 Lariat CC SB
07 Dash, Front End, Suspension
F450 DRW is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 02-22-2011, 09:16 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ok so I figured it out, the best way to explain it is to grab a haynes manual and a multimeter and ohm out the resitance for the different buttons. The biggest issue is getting cruise to work. The resistance values are different and I'm not sure how or where to change out the resistors.
BlackCoyote is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome