2 din stereo installation?? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-04-2010, 09:41 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: West Hills, CA
Posts: 63
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to hotprowl
2 din stereo installation??

I searched, and all I came up with is that you have to trim the dash opening a little, which I did, but how do you get the sleeve of the 2 din radio to fit behind the dash to hold the radio? I know the Ford factory radio is something like 1.8 din. I got the new stereo to slide through the dash by trimming it, but there's no way in the world the sleeve that the stereo slides into to hold it will fit behind the dash.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 10-04-2010, 10:40 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wright City, MO
Posts: 2,744
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I didn't use the sleeve on mine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 10-04-2010, 10:46 AM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manor, TX
Posts: 2,855
Thanks: 0
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
If it's the same as mine, after you trim the dash you reinstall the dash and slide the head into the hole. There are tabs on the side of the trim that grab the dash to keep it from sliding out.

I didn't like that method, so I removed the dash and put two screws into the side of the head unit then slid the dash over the head. I had to make the opening in the dash slightly larger but you can't tell the difference.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 10-04-2010, 09:23 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 133
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I took the sleeve and cut it down and re-welded it back together, fits perfect.

I wanted to make sure my radio was hard for a thief to get it out.

Search my name for my setup
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 10-06-2010, 01:01 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Tucson
Posts: 172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
when i had my 2 din installed, they trimmed and then used some flat aluminum bar to mount it, strewed it on and then back.. ill go get a pic, easyest way
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 10-06-2010, 01:06 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Tucson
Posts: 172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 10-06-2010, 05:51 AM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manor, TX
Posts: 2,855
Thanks: 0
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Mounted mine just like above but didn't use any plumbers tape, just used existing screw holes in the head unit.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 10-06-2010, 08:57 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Tucson
Posts: 172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSchuricht View Post
Mounted mine just like above but didn't use any plumbers tape, just used existing screw holes in the head unit.
plumbers tape? were do u see that? and yes the brackets are using the screw holes already in the DD
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 10-06-2010, 09:12 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: West Hills, CA
Posts: 63
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to hotprowl
That stuff you call "aluminum bar" is called plumbers tape. It comes in a roll.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 10-07-2010, 01:08 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Tucson
Posts: 172
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by hotprowl View Post
That stuff you call "aluminum bar" is called plumbers tape. It comes in a roll.
it infact didnt come in a roll.. it was a flat bar at home depot
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors