Switch Panel - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-02-2010, 04:45 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Camp Lejeune
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Switch Panel

Hey all. I been looking at switch boxes from summit racing and other places, and in my opinion, all are way to expensive for what you get. So I'm going to build my own switch box/panel myself. I already have the dimensions and have built a mock up out of cardboard. When i get home I'll take a picture of it so you can all laugh at it.

If I can find a place that can make me a box to my specs than I'm going to try and use aluminum. If I can't find one I'll at least use a piece of thin metal for the front face and the rest out of wood.

I will be using "double pole / single throw" switches, 5 of them. Reason for DP/ST is so when they are on it will have a small led just below the switch to let me know they are on or active. The thing I think that will make this stand out is that I am going to use backlighting above each switch to denote it's function.

The power for the backlighting will be tapped into my dash lights so they only come on when the lights get turned on and the brightness will be adjustable off the dimmer dial so I can adjust the intensity of the light as I like.

Like I've said, I already have the specs of the box for all the windows, switches, and led lights so this weekend I'm going to look around and see what I can find as far as building the box itself.

Also, I'll be taking pictures of the build as I go so you all can see the progress and maybe decide to build one yourself, a type of tutorial, or give you ideas for other things to do with it.

Last edited by hopkinsrm; 09-02-2010 at 04:48 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 09-02-2010, 07:19 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 186
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
sounds great! im looking forward to seeing this because i have been contemplating doing the same thing!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 09-02-2010, 09:13 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Camp Lejeune
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
first time trying to upload pics, so here goes, and remember, this is just the mock up build so laugh away.






As you can see the first two are real switches, the last three are some cardboard taped to the box. The windows will be backlighted so you will be able to see the text will be illuminated when the dash lights are on.

Last edited by hopkinsrm; 09-02-2010 at 09:17 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 09-03-2010, 02:04 PM
PMR = JUNK

 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW, Ohio
Posts: 11,187
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Jake Send a message via Yahoo to Jake
God mode?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 09-12-2010, 09:06 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Camp Lejeune
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I haven't made it out to a radio shack yet to look at some switches, but I did find an on/off illuminated switch at autozone. Problem is it has 3 prongs, 1 for power supply, 1 for accessory, and 1 for ground. If I wire this up for the Torque Converter Lockup I dont want power feeding back into the transmission. Question I have is if I put in a diode on the tranny side will it work, as in the diode will only let power pass one way? and if so what specs am I looking for if it will work? test voltage/resistance off of the wiring I'm tapping into and go from there?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 09-13-2010, 02:17 PM
PMR = JUNK

 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW, Ohio
Posts: 11,187
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Jake Send a message via Yahoo to Jake
It shouldn't feed back in without a diode, the light that is on the switch and the circuit the switch is actually breaking are independent, they just share a ground.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 09-13-2010, 02:53 PM
COME ON...ONE TIME!!


 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Fletcher, NC
Posts: 16,743
Thanks: 67
Thanked 58 Times in 56 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
the reason it lights up is because the power is sent through to the switch and when you send it through to the item you are powering, it also grounds out the side that lights the switch. SO, technically, the light would be ON when the TC is not locked and OFF when it is. Because all a TC lock up switch does is ground out the signal to the TC.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 09-13-2010, 08:18 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Camp Lejeune
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
So with that being said I gotta lock for a 4 prong switch then, so the circuits are seperated completely. Hopefully I can track enough of the same type down localy, if not gonna have to order em.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 01-18-2011, 07:12 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Camp Lejeune
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
well, the shelf was ordering from JC whitney got discontinued. So now I'm thinking of getting an aftermarket radio installed. Thing is, all the install kit's are cubby holes, not filler plates. Can an audio shop fabricate a faceplate to put in there? If I could get a faceplate I would just put the switches on the faceplate, right below the radio. Plus an aftermarket radio will let me run my IPOD.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors