aftermarket radio - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-17-2009, 06:43 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sparta,Michigan
Posts: 437
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
aftermarket radio

i have a radio/cd player from a car. i have a 99 without cd or tape player, i took it out and the new one wont fit right, is there some kind of adapter plate or something?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 08-17-2009, 07:39 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: near madison wisconsin
Posts: 161
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i know ive seen at walmart dash kits for them i think this is what you need
there by the radios and connectors there like 15 dollars
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 08-17-2009, 07:40 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sparta,Michigan
Posts: 437
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by carpman15 View Post
i know ive seen at walmart dash kits for them i think this is what you need
there by the radios and connectors there like 15 dollars
alright ill check it out!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 08-17-2009, 07:48 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,366
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZombieWeinerDog View Post
i have a radio/cd player from a car. i have a 99 without cd or tape player, i took it out and the new one wont fit right, is there some kind of adapter plate or something?
do you have the double din dash kit (what holds the radio there) if so it should come with a plastic tab that screws in to the back of your radio and slides on the rail like ur OEM one did. Explain how it don't fit?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 08-17-2009, 08:03 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sparta,Michigan
Posts: 437
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goose View Post
do you have the double din dash kit (what holds the radio there) if so it should come with a plastic tab that screws in to the back of your radio and slides on the rail like ur OEM one did. Explain how it don't fit?
ok, i did this about a week ago, i will try to remember. to take off the front cover, i took a flathead and it popped off. then the dials, buttons and screen assembly came off, there were ten some crews that held the main part in place there was no way to fit the new one in.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 08-18-2009, 08:45 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 120
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZombieWeinerDog View Post
ok, i did this about a week ago, i will try to remember. to take off the front cover, i took a flathead and it popped off. then the dials, buttons and screen assembly came off, there were ten some crews that held the main part in place there was no way to fit the new one in.
Ummm. I'm not sure what you mean, but it sounds like you took the factory radio apart in the dash. There are 2 U shaped tools that you stick in the 4 holes in the face plate of the radio. Gently pull them apart, and the radio will pop out of the dash. You then unplug the wire harness and antenna from the back. Very simple. After that, reinstalling an aftermarket stereo requires a few adapters for the dash, and the wiring.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 08-18-2009, 08:51 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,366
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZombieWeinerDog View Post
ok, i did this about a week ago, i will try to remember. to take off the front cover, i took a flathead and it popped off. then the dials, buttons and screen assembly came off, there were ten some crews that held the main part in place there was no way to fit the new one in.
yea i am pretty sure you broke the factory one go to wally world there are din "keys" that go in the 4 holes put them in there push them in towards the middle and pull u can use a coat hanger just have patients.Then you go to autozone or wal mart buy the wiring harness plug it in to the one you pull off of the OEM radio then splice it to the one on back of ur a/m radio. and ur good to go just get a single din Dash Kit at wall mart all in all ur looking at prob 30 bucks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 08-18-2009, 08:54 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sparta,Michigan
Posts: 437
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by no1hedberg View Post
Ummm. I'm not sure what you mean, but it sounds like you took the factory radio apart in the dash. There are 2 U shaped tools that you stick in the 4 holes in the face plate of the radio. Gently pull them apart, and the radio will pop out of the dash. You then unplug the wire harness and antenna from the back. Very simple. After that, reinstalling an aftermarket stereo requires a few adapters for the dash, and the wiring.
i know, i took the radio apart in the dash, i eventually took it out, im windering about an adapter now. were can i find one?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 08-18-2009, 08:54 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,366
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
adapter? for wiring or the dash to hold it in
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 08-18-2009, 08:56 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sparta,Michigan
Posts: 437
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goose View Post
adapter? for wiring or the dash to hold it in
both would be great
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors