tell me whatchya think... - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-20-2009, 06:19 PM
Premium Member

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
tell me whatchya think...

Today i went with a buddy to look at an F250, he doesnt really know jack about diesels and I'm no guru, but i'm learnin on the ins and outs of diesels and i'm a Mechanic in the navy, so i know when what i'm lookin at is messed up or not..
but the truck is a 2000 CCSB, got 158K on it, intake, 4" strait pipe, 8" lift on 38's, 4.56 gears and a 6 position TS chip with built trans, and billit conv. the guys is askin 11K flat.. now here is what i'm worried about.. the truck ran fine...EXCEPT, when i first cranked it on a cold start it smoked for a good min. or two, white smoke and decent amount of it... the guy blammed it on the chip, but i'm kinda on edge about it. Now I know a COLD diesel will do a little smokin, but it was 98 here today in VA BEACH.. also just after normal drivin, coming to an idle at the red-light, dunno if maybe the guage was stickin or what but she stayed at 600 EGT's and took it a few minutes to fall down to the 400-300's.. he said the TS's programs are STOCK, HIGH IDLE, DAILY, 90, 120 AND 140. the truck was a decent runnin truck once she warmed up, but i can tell she has been rode hard and put up wet, and being the owner of a lifted truck as well, i know all the places to look for Off-Roading evidence.. and its def. seen mud before as well as the sand of VA BEACH... also the front crank seal ( behind the Harmonic balencer ) is leaking, now i know thats a pain in the Arse to fix, been there done that. but it aint a bad leak,...yet. or he's good with brake cleaner..

so with the smoking on cold start and them EGT's not droping at the red light.. what do you guys think??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement