Can someone explain the plug-in chips to me?? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 Old 06-11-2009, 07:34 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 44
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Can someone explain the plug-in chips to me??

Okay I made a thread yesterday about my Predator programmer not being able to flash my PCM.

So after some reading, I figured there was a chip installed into the PCM. Turns out I was right. It is a Dyno Sources Inc. chip...good for 70hp/160 ft. lbs. is what they advertise.

So my question is, now that I have unplugged this chip, can I just re-install my pcm or is there something that is supposed to go in place of where this chip was?? The factory for the pcm is missing, and it had an aluminum one on it that says Dyno Sources.

Kinda need to get my truck back running since I'll need it tomorrow.
HillbillyDeluxe99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 06-11-2009, 07:35 PM
FJuanfiddy mod


 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,843
Thanks: 134
Thanked 186 Times in 166 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Put the PCM back in. Put a piece of tape over the hole where the chip was. Good to go

Email:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2011 F150 Ecoboost Crew cab lariat. Custom tunes from KEM and 5Star, and Unleashed
2012 F150 Crew Cab Ecoboost stock for now-Totaled March 12 2015
2006 F250 ECSB Lariat 4x4

Leveling kit, 315/70/17 Kelly TSRs on Method race wheels
ARP studs and OEM gaskets done by Renegade Diesel
ECM and Atlas 40 FICM tuned by Bill at PHP SCT tunes by Truck Source Diesel. Gearhead, Innovative, Wildman and Tyrant diesel
Flowmaster/MBRP Hybrid Exhaust
Edge Insight CTS
Coolant filter
Bulletproof diesel FICM EGR Delete, Oil Cooler and Water Pump, and Light bar.
Dually LED lights from Stealth Automotive/Xpedition Outfitters
No Limit Fab 6.0 Cold Air Intake

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Dave is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 06-11-2009, 07:35 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,395
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i took mine out and just covered the hole with electrical tape so that dust wouldn't get in it not sure if its the correct procedure or not but thats what i did and the original piece is a plastic clip thing that goes in there u can prob buy one from ford but why when u can use tape?

Early 99 F350-Sold
01 Excursion-Sold
98.5 Cummins-Sold
02 F250- Stock
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.




To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
My Hero
Goose is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 06-11-2009, 07:35 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 44
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Awesome. Thanks alot.
HillbillyDeluxe99 is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 06-11-2009, 07:36 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,395
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
Put the PCM back in. Put a piece of tape over the hole where the chip was. Good to go
dang it dave you type faster then me

Early 99 F350-Sold
01 Excursion-Sold
98.5 Cummins-Sold
02 F250- Stock
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.




To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
My Hero
Goose is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 06-11-2009, 07:36 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 44
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Btw, anyone want a Dyno Sources chip for a good price??
HillbillyDeluxe99 is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 06-11-2009, 07:39 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,395
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
try the classifieds for it bud or craigs list

Early 99 F350-Sold
01 Excursion-Sold
98.5 Cummins-Sold
02 F250- Stock
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.




To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
My Hero
Goose is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 06-11-2009, 07:40 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,395
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
http://www.powerstroke.org/forum/sal...-members-only/

Early 99 F350-Sold
01 Excursion-Sold
98.5 Cummins-Sold
02 F250- Stock
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.




To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
My Hero
Goose is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 06-11-2009, 08:46 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 44
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Great success!! /borat

Got the predator installed, runnin' the 85hp tune and damn what a difference over that chip!

Although I really wish I had a DP 6 pos. chip
HillbillyDeluxe99 is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 06-12-2009, 10:32 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Dmstrucks/02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: La Porte,TX
Posts: 243
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
How can you tell if your truck has a chip already installed, I bought my truck used about a year ago and I put a super chips on and it has no difference in power.... I put back to stock mode and ran my buddies 07 6.0L and I beat him???? he thinks I have a chip already on the truck
not to get off topic, but im new here lookin for advice as well

02' PSD, 7.3, 4" Lift on 35's
Isspro-boost,EGT,Trans
AFE Intake, WW!!!
HPO X Line, AIH Delete
08 Rear Diff Cover
5" MBRP Turbo Back,6" tip
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Dmstrucks/02 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome