Can someone explain the plug-in chips to me?? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-11-2009, 06:34 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 39
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Can someone explain the plug-in chips to me??

Okay I made a thread yesterday about my Predator programmer not being able to flash my PCM.

So after some reading, I figured there was a chip installed into the PCM. Turns out I was right. It is a Dyno Sources Inc. chip...good for 70hp/160 ft. lbs. is what they advertise.

So my question is, now that I have unplugged this chip, can I just re-install my pcm or is there something that is supposed to go in place of where this chip was?? The factory for the pcm is missing, and it had an aluminum one on it that says Dyno Sources.

Kinda need to get my truck back running since I'll need it tomorrow.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-11-2009, 06:35 PM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 30,946
Thanks: 105
Thanked 88 Times in 82 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Put the PCM back in. Put a piece of tape over the hole where the chip was. Good to go
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-11-2009, 06:35 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,366
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i took mine out and just covered the hole with electrical tape so that dust wouldn't get in it not sure if its the correct procedure or not but thats what i did and the original piece is a plastic clip thing that goes in there u can prob buy one from ford but why when u can use tape?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-11-2009, 06:35 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 39
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Awesome. Thanks alot.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-11-2009, 06:36 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,366
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
Put the PCM back in. Put a piece of tape over the hole where the chip was. Good to go
dang it dave you type faster then me
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 06-11-2009, 06:36 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 39
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Btw, anyone want a Dyno Sources chip for a good price??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 06-11-2009, 06:39 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,366
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
try the classifieds for it bud or craigs list
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 06-11-2009, 06:40 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,366
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
http://www.powerstroke.org/forum/sal...-members-only/
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 06-11-2009, 07:46 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 39
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Great success!! /borat

Got the predator installed, runnin' the 85hp tune and damn what a difference over that chip!

Although I really wish I had a DP 6 pos. chip
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 06-12-2009, 09:32 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: La Porte,TX
Posts: 243
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
How can you tell if your truck has a chip already installed, I bought my truck used about a year ago and I put a super chips on and it has no difference in power.... I put back to stock mode and ran my buddies 07 6.0L and I beat him???? he thinks I have a chip already on the truck
not to get off topic, but im new here lookin for advice as well
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors