will older chip work - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-03-2009, 07:26 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
will older chip work

my buddy has a 97 with several chips laying around my truck is suppose to be a early 99 will these work or not and how can i check ecu numbers to know which year ecu i got
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-03-2009, 07:34 PM
Bird is the Word

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: West Lafayette, in
Posts: 5,451
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What kind of chips are they?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-03-2009, 10:22 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 16
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ya know i cant remember actually i think one of them is stackable i was just wanting to try and see what kind of power i was wanting i got either a 60 or 80hp superchips now its a chip i think one of the fist ever made...lol
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-03-2009, 11:04 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Miles City, MT
Posts: 5,354
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
my driend has a 1997 F-250 and he used a chip out of a 1995. it ran good for a bit but has been messing up. not saying its the chips falt. but you pull it out and it runs fine
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-03-2009, 11:05 PM
I, 1, 2, 1/2, 6
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: O'Fallon, Missouri (38.79N - 90.68W)
Posts: 2,261
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big_Red_Stroker View Post
my driend has a 1997 F-250 and he used a chip out of a 1995. it ran good for a bit but has been messing up. not saying its the chips falt. but you pull it out and it runs fine

i would think 95 and 97 would be the same chip anyway?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 06-03-2009, 11:11 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Miles City, MT
Posts: 5,354
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i agree kyle. the only thing is the 95 was a 5 speed. but it ran good at first. im just sayin what happend to his truck.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 06-04-2009, 12:30 AM
I, 1, 2, 1/2, 6
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: O'Fallon, Missouri (38.79N - 90.68W)
Posts: 2,261
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big_Red_Stroker View Post
i agree kyle. the only thing is the 95 was a 5 speed. but it ran good at first. im just sayin what happend to his truck.

I wasn't tryin' to make any points, I was just thinkin' out loud. I'm not doubtin' that it happened.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 06-04-2009, 03:58 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Paramount, CA
Posts: 954
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I think the PCM is different, I say no but have no idea really.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 06-04-2009, 04:01 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ft Worth
Posts: 1,210
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
A chip programmed for an OBS will NOT work on a superduty and vice versa.

The chip can be reprogrammed to work for the superduty though.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 06-04-2009, 04:24 AM
Bird is the Word

 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: West Lafayette, in
Posts: 5,451
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by overkilld350 View Post
ya know i cant remember actually i think one of them is stackable i was just wanting to try and see what kind of power i was wanting i got either a 60 or 80hp superchips now its a chip i think one of the fist ever made...lol
just so you know, stacking doesn't do anything on Fords, just save your money and get a custom tuned chip, such as a TW, DPtuner, php....they will out perform any canned tune chip
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors