TW Chip question - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 Old 04-22-2009, 04:00 PM Thread Starter
Mod Newbie

 
dhanna6powerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 13,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 142 Times in 134 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
TW Chip question

Ok, here's the scoop. I installed a TW 4 position chip in a friends truck, (2000 F-350 6 speed). After installing, we checked that all positions worked and they did. This was on a Friday evening. He left Saturday morning and drove 180 miles to Kentucky pulling a 35 ft. gooseneck with 2 Jeeps. Drove home Sunday and everything was still working great. Sunday night he got in the truck to leave and the "check engine light" came on and stayed on and the truck would not start. He cycled the key a few times and got it to start. Did this again Monday and then yesterday. I had him remove the computer and check the connection terminals. He recleaned them and reinstalled the chip. The truck started, he switch through all the positions and then back, shut the truck off and it would not restart. He removed the computer again and rechecked, reinstalled and the same thing happened. Removed again, reinstalled and never could get it to start. Completely removed the chip and reinstalled the computer and it starts and runs great. Anybody have any ideas? I've seen where they wouldn't start at all because of a bad connection but never seen one do this. Any help is greatly appreciated and sorry for the novel of a post.

dhanna6powerstroke is offline  
post #2 of 22 Old 04-22-2009, 04:11 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Los Gatos CA
Posts: 733
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Take a look at the large external connector, see if it is clean or has corrosion.
Diesel Monkey is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 04-22-2009, 04:11 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
dusted4eva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Grande Prairie
Posts: 1,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to dusted4eva
I'm new the chips but it may need a reburn. could be a faulty tune.

2001 7.3 SuperDuty Lariat

AFE Stage II Cold Air Intake
PHP Tunes , Autometer Gauges
Zoodad Mod,
4"SS MBRP Exhaust
ITP Overboost Annihilator
Roada Deco Positive Air Shutoff
NADP Heavy Hauler Transmission
6 liter Trans Cooler
Diesel Site Coolant Filtration System

dusted4eva is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 04-22-2009, 04:18 PM Thread Starter
Mod Newbie

 
dhanna6powerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 13,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 142 Times in 134 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diesel Monkey View Post
Take a look at the large external connector, see if it is clean or has corrosion.
Ok, but would it run with the chip removed? Absolutely no problems before the install. Thanks for the suggestion.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dusted4eva View Post
I'm new the chips but it may need a reburn. could be a faulty tune.
Thought about that too but doesn't make sense that it worked great for 3 days. Anything is possible I guess. Thanks for the suggestion.

dhanna6powerstroke is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 04-23-2009, 11:25 AM Thread Starter
Mod Newbie

 
dhanna6powerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 13,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 142 Times in 134 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews

dhanna6powerstroke is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 04-23-2009, 11:37 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Denton, Tx
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Is it possible that if the original installation had a bad connection that it could have possibly shorted the chip? That's the only thing I could think of. Unless the PCM has another program on it, other than stock, from a previous owner.

1999.5 F250 2wd Auto Crew Cab Long bed, 190k, 4" MBRP turbo back, DIY Tymar, 50hp old school hypertech chip, WW, HP oil crossover line, BTS trans done and installed,

1949 Willys Jeep resto
1942 Willys Jeep rock crawler
rooney77 is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 04-23-2009, 11:44 AM
Cynic
 
Dirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 11,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Pull the pcm and take pics of the contacts. May have screwed up the install.

Best Car & Motorcycle Insurance | Auto/Moto Protection Today | FREE Trade-In Quote
Dirk is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 04-23-2009, 11:52 AM Thread Starter
Mod Newbie

 
dhanna6powerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 13,156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 142 Times in 134 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by rooney77 View Post
Is it possible that if the original installation had a bad connection that it could have possibly shorted the chip? That's the only thing I could think of. Unless the PCM has another program on it, other than stock, from a previous owner.
There has never been a program in the truck before. I suppose it is possible that a bad connection could have shorted it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirk View Post
Pull the pcm and take pics of the contacts. May have screwed up the install.
I will have him do that. Thanks for the input. BTW, I shipped that gauge today.

dhanna6powerstroke is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 04-23-2009, 11:56 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Drepka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bastrop, Tx.
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Drepka
I know the connections in the Computer are covered by a clear type ,gummy film, when Tony installed my chip he told me you had to scrape it off REAL thorough or else it would have bad connection. He did it with a pocket knife and he did it alot.




Traded in the 00'


TW 6 pos. chip......reinstalled
Isspro gauges.....Finally in 04-27-09
DIY Tymar.....04-21-09
Zoodad.........04-22-09
Foil delete.....04-22-09


next:

Leveling kit--delayed-wife totalled new car!!!!!!!!!!
4" turbo back MBRP....installed !
305/70/16 Goodyear Wrangler Silent Armors-- done yesterday
Drepka is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 04-23-2009, 12:00 PM
Cynic
 
Dirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 11,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drepka View Post
I know the connections in the Computer are covered by a clear type ,gummy film, when Tony installed my chip he told me you had to scrape it off REAL thorough or else it would have bad connection. He did it with a pocket knife and he did it alot.
true, but too much will ruin the pcm. Or at least... you'll have to repair the contacts.

Best Car & Motorcycle Insurance | Auto/Moto Protection Today | FREE Trade-In Quote
Dirk is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome