Turbine Housing torque? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-01-2009, 02:52 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Florida Panhandle
Posts: 1,710
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Turbine Housing torque?

Well, if the weather holds out, this will be the weekend I put my new GT38R, up-pipes and CCV mod in. I think I pretty much have everything under control, hoping to get it done in a long day, but 2 if I have to......but I am changing the exhaust housing on the turbo to the 1.15A/R and was wondering if there is a specific torque to torque housing and/or outlet adapter bolts to or if it is the old "german torque" rule.

Also, should I use threadlocker on them? I'm thinking at least some low-strength stuff if not medium. Thanks.

-Aaron
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-01-2009, 04:12 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 3,016
Thanks: 6
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
When I did mine I just got them as tight as I could with a wrench. You really can't get a torque wrench in there to do it. You will see... Also my cheapo wrenches wouldn't even fit in there... the craftsmen would but not the cheap knock-off brand..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 04-01-2009, 06:00 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Florida Panhandle
Posts: 1,710
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah, I knew there wasn't much room in there. I know at work we have wrenches with a 3/8" drive on one end to use with a ratchet or torque wrench and there is a formula to use for that to get the right torque, but I guess it's not necessary. I figured it could ruin the turbo if the housing came loose and I didn't know if you could distort the housing by getting it too tight. Although after handling the housing today when it came in I am thinking it is pretty stout. Sounds like it will just be getting tightened with a wrench.

Anyone use locktite or just do it dry?

-Aaron
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 04-02-2009, 07:10 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Edenton, NC
Posts: 182
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I think this is the link you are looking for, just enter your information and it will give you the torque setting.

Hope this helps

https://www.motorcraftservice.com/re...la_main_en.asp
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-02-2009, 04:21 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Florida Panhandle
Posts: 1,710
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have the formulas at work too, but I like that link and will be keeping it. It looks like a handy link to have.

Layson (or anyone else) did you use locktite on the bolts or just get them good and tight? I know I sound paranoid, but I don't want to spend that kind of money twice just because I didn't get all the info. Thanks.
-Aaron
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 04-02-2009, 04:41 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Corvallis, OR
Posts: 3,016
Thanks: 6
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I didn't... but I don't think it would hurt anything to use it...

I just got it good and tight.. used the cheater method with another wrench...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 04-02-2009, 05:54 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Bend, Or
Posts: 5,918
Thanks: 28
Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No lock tight, get them good and tight and be done. There a ***** to get off if you ever have to even without locktight.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 04-02-2009, 06:21 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Florida Panhandle
Posts: 1,710
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Right on....all set then I think. Everyone keep an eye out for a post from me this weekend asking for help...hahaha. Either way I will let everyone know how it went and what the results are. I'm hoping one long day will get bellowed up pipes, turbo, pedistal, and maybe the CCV mod done. I guess we will see.
-Aaron
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors