turboback question - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-07-2014, 07:29 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
turboback question

01 7.3 , do I need to retune after installing a turboback? Im we'll aware it'll optimize the mod if I do, but do I NEED to right away? (Will it run lean or anything?)

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 07-07-2014, 08:16 PM
DERAIL MOD!!!



 

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Canton and kennesaw
Posts: 21,544
Thanks: 19
Thanked 139 Times in 127 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
No you do not need any tuning to run a full exhaust
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 07-07-2014, 08:31 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Mount Airy, MD
Posts: 727
Thanks: 7
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
^what he said. But a chip with some good tunes will make the truck more fun to drive.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 07-08-2014, 04:25 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ok that was my impression, thanks a lot guys.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 07-08-2014, 04:26 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Oh and likewise with just a CAI? What about the 2 together?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 07-08-2014, 06:38 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Mount Airy, MD
Posts: 727
Thanks: 7
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
They won't add much power just by themselves, but you do not need a tune to run either. Those are the most basic mods that people do to these trucks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 07-08-2014, 09:14 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
AFE stage 2 advertise 112 tq (even at the flywheel) that's not shabby?! I keep hearing to stud the heads... at what point is that necessary? im assuming not at the bolt on level? or is there a boost level that its recommended at?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 07-08-2014, 09:18 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Mount Airy, MD
Posts: 727
Thanks: 7
Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have never personally tested that, but I think it's a bunch of bologna. There is no way that just switching out the intake will net you that much.

Whoever is telling you that you need head studs on a stock 7.3 is someone you shouldn't listen to. These aren't 6.0s that need them with just the basic bolt ons, 7.3s are pretty good at holding the headgaskets unless you're making an obscene amount of power and boost, and they are certainly not needed at the intake, tune, exhaust stage.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 07-08-2014, 11:23 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I agree with you on multiple accounts, I mean it does have a lot of displacement + boost so I can see how some would believe it but it sounds a little inflated, and I was hoping it wouldn't need studs at that point.

So what boost could I expect with a stage 2 AFE and a full 4 in turbo back (w programmer) ? approximately
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 07-08-2014, 11:37 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Chico, California
Posts: 3,498
Thanks: 17
Thanked 100 Times in 95 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
intake and exhaust will add about 20 hp over stock.
the main reason for doing them is as a supporting mod for when you want to chip/program your truck.

usually can't run the stock compressor wheel over 25 psi without some major surge issues.

with a good custom tuned chip and billet compressor 30 psi is pretty easy to hit. as long as you don't have boost leaks/driver pressure leaks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors