ppe 6 positon chip from sinister diesel? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old 06-25-2014, 05:56 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
SUPERDUALLY350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: clearwater
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ppe 6 positon chip from sinister diesel?

so i am currently running the ts 6 position chip and im starting to hate it the first 6 months i had no problem but use my truck on the farm and some times the chip works great other times it doesn't communicate right away there is a lag when your taking off from a stop but if i unplug it a replug it in it will work fine for a day or so. so i have been looking online for a different chip and came across the ppe 6 position chip from sinster diesel. instead of plugging into the back of the computer it plugs into the port that you hook up a scan tool on so im thinking ill get a way better connections. I guess i am just wondering if it a good chip and whos running one.

or the edge juice? i like the safety features they have

Last edited by SUPERDUALLY350; 06-25-2014 at 06:09 PM.
SUPERDUALLY350 is offline  
post #2 of 10 Old 06-25-2014, 06:13 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
scagle1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 13
Thanked 53 Times in 50 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by SUPERDUALLY350 View Post
so i am currently running the ts 6 position chip and im starting to hate it the first 6 months i had no problem but use my truck on the farm and some times the chip works great other times it doesn't communicate right away there is a lag when your taking off from a stop but if i unplug it a replug it in it will work fine for a day or so. so i have been looking online for a different chip and came across the ppe 6 position chip from sinster diesel. instead of plugging into the back of the computer it plugs into the port that you hook up a scan tool on so im thinking ill get a way better connections. I guess i am just wondering if it a good chip and whos running one.
First i've heard of anything PPE on a powerstroke. Doesnt mean much tho......
I know PPE hardware is pretty nasty on the duramaxes but have not heard of anyone running it on ours. Buddy has on 08 bowtie and runs level 2 on his and its quick , he had level 3 for awhile and dropped it back down. One of the car shows on TV took a duramax motor , stuffed it into an old 65 impala ( i use the term old lightly ) , loaded PPE on it , filled it with Vegi oil and went to the track and blew the doors off some overpriced Lambo or some high dollar snazzy italian car of the sorts.
Anyway , subscribed as ive never heard of it on a Ford and am curious to boot if its the same PPE hardware.

Might wanna check into a reburn with a good company or possibility of retinning if the contacts are worn out. The tinning however doesn't really explain why it works for a few days and then quits again.

Sold 01 350 6" on 37's and mild mods, 00 X 4" on 35's, 02 f350 4" 35's molded from fan to drive shaft, ridin the 03 with nose conversion with 125k and counting upwards slowly.
Never had CNC on any of it, never will.
Take 3/4 of the info and recommendations on here with a grain of salt
scagle1 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 06-25-2014, 06:27 PM
DERAIL MOD!!!


 
351fifty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Canton and kennesaw
Posts: 23,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 34
Thanked 207 Times in 195 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Seems as though the PCM wasn't properly cleaned

The show is pimp my ride from about 6 years ago

-Kris-
2011 f150 ecoboost 4x4 323/452 on php dyno 11/16/13
1995 CCLB DRW 324K
2001 CCLB DRW 319K
Dp tuner infinity, exhaust, intake, chipped, tricked, and wrecked


Quote:
Originally Posted by marine5811
The stock downpipe in an OBS is flat because I'm a ginger.
Quote:
Originally Posted by alberta 7.3
Finding a decent woman is like shopping for a used truck. You spend most of your time picking through the money pits, wrecks, and basket cases until you find one that you can tolerate
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJFLASH
Well at least you caught the loose bolts before they cause any damage. Nothing worse than a sloppy hole
351fifty is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 06-25-2014, 06:32 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
SUPERDUALLY350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: clearwater
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by scagle1 View Post
First i've heard of anything PPE on a powerstroke. Doesnt mean much tho......
I know PPE hardware is pretty nasty on the duramaxes but have not heard of anyone running it on ours. Buddy has on 08 bowtie and runs level 2 on his and its quick , he had level 3 for awhile and dropped it back down. One of the car shows on TV took a duramax motor , stuffed it into an old 65 impala ( i use the term old lightly ) , loaded PPE on it , filled it with Vegi oil and went to the track and blew the doors off some overpriced Lambo or some high dollar snazzy italian car of the sorts.
Anyway , subscribed as ive never heard of it on a Ford and am curious to boot if its the same PPE hardware.

Might wanna check into a reburn with a good company or possibility of retinning if the contacts are worn out. The tinning however doesn't really explain why it works for a few days and then quits again.
thats why i was asking because i havent seen it either and there is just no good way to secure it to the computer and if it moves a little it dosent wanna make contact and it just moves to much when im out in the fields so i wanna maybe get a programmer being they plug into either the wiring harness or the scan tool port.
SUPERDUALLY350 is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 06-25-2014, 06:40 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
sbluke55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Posts: 6,505
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Thanks: 286
Thanked 504 Times in 475 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I just use duct tape to hold my chip in. I think you need to check your connection at the PCM. Make sure it's clean and it's sanded down to the copper on the contacts.

01 f-250, Standard
Rev tech 4" lift,35" Mickey Thompsons MTZ
KC diy 66 stage 2, Full force 160/100 and custom tunes from PHP
Banks inner cooler and full 4" exhaust, Diy S&B intake
Diy quad feed, Hydra, Isspro boost, pyro, and fuel pressure
3/0 battery cables with military style terminals
sbluke55 is online now  
post #6 of 10 Old 06-25-2014, 06:41 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
sbluke55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Posts: 6,505
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Thanks: 286
Thanked 504 Times in 475 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Also pull the keys out of the ignition when messing with the chip or you will have to find a new PCM.

01 f-250, Standard
Rev tech 4" lift,35" Mickey Thompsons MTZ
KC diy 66 stage 2, Full force 160/100 and custom tunes from PHP
Banks inner cooler and full 4" exhaust, Diy S&B intake
Diy quad feed, Hydra, Isspro boost, pyro, and fuel pressure
3/0 battery cables with military style terminals
sbluke55 is online now  
post #7 of 10 Old 06-25-2014, 06:42 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
SUPERDUALLY350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: clearwater
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 351fifty View Post
Seems as though the PCM wasn't properly cleaned

The show is pimp my ride from about 6 years ago
the pcm is cleaned properly. if it had not been cleaned properly it would have done this the last 8 months. im thinking because i use it in the fields it bounces around to much and has warn the connections out this is why i would rather have one that plugs into the scan tool plug or the harness.
SUPERDUALLY350 is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 06-26-2014, 12:38 AM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor

 
Corey@CNCFAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Defiance, OH
Posts: 9,128
Mentioned: 127 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Thanks: 751
Thanked 486 Times in 442 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Bouncing around should not effect the connection. My old TS chip was actually rather difficult to remove as the semi conductor tangs were quite tight.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

E99CCLB 250/200s,STG1cam, KC38R, 4" exh,CNC FAB fuel&oil lines,140vIDM,BTS,S&B

97 ECLB F250 4x4 all stock
96 CCLB F350 4x4 D60 swap stock



EDGE,S&B,SCT,PHP Hydra,TS-Perf,OEM parts,Sam Wyse trans,VB's,LED's,MBRP,ISSPRO,ICON,FOX,KC TURBOs,SD 7.3 fuel kits, HPOP lines

www.cncfab.us or email sales@cncfab.us

Corey@CNCFAB is online now  
post #9 of 10 Old 06-26-2014, 04:28 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
SUPERDUALLY350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: clearwater
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by hucorey View Post
Bouncing around should not effect the connection. My old TS chip was actually rather difficult to remove as the semi conductor tangs were quite tight.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
mines pretty easy to remove and can wiggle around easily
SUPERDUALLY350 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 06-26-2014, 05:06 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
scagle1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 13
Thanked 53 Times in 50 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have two chips I swap out regularly and run oilfield roads all the time without problems. I'd think if it was that loose you'd fry the PCM. Like already stated , did you tape it in good ? Mine is cut open so I don't have to remove the PCM to swap and lacking tape due to switching weekly , again without wiggle issue. Maybe you can try pinching the contacts on the chip back together some.

Pimp my ride , that may be it on the 65 Impala??? More of an Overhaulin' kinda guy , not much use for the Pimp , west coast customs, and the likes. Amost shocked that car came from the Pump show , did they bring in some real builders on that one ?

Sold 01 350 6" on 37's and mild mods, 00 X 4" on 35's, 02 f350 4" 35's molded from fan to drive shaft, ridin the 03 with nose conversion with 125k and counting upwards slowly.
Never had CNC on any of it, never will.
Take 3/4 of the info and recommendations on here with a grain of salt
scagle1 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome