Installed 6 pos chip and some odd things - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-11-2014, 07:23 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: middleburgh, n.y
Posts: 394
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Installed 6 pos chip and some odd things

Soo I just finally got my truck back together, bts 4r100, walbro fuel pump and a 6pos chip got the bts and a chip together from a friend of a friend. Anyhow all runs amazing but when I put the chip in my water in fuel light came on, the idle seamed to change, There seams to be no rev limiter in park, and stock setting on the chip has less power then "stock".. My first thought is the chips burnt for a obs or singal shots.. Anyone got any input?


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-11-2014, 07:47 PM
ADMIN AND TECH


 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: winston salem north carolina
Posts: 9,241
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The chip doesn't match ur calibration would be my guess
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-11-2014, 07:55 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: middleburgh, n.y
Posts: 394
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What ya mean by that?


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-11-2014, 07:56 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Wichita
Posts: 164
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No rev limiter in park?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-11-2014, 08:07 PM
ADMIN AND TECH


 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: winston salem north carolina
Posts: 9,241
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 700xxmaniac View Post
What ya mean by that?


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
The chip from a friend of a friend doesn't match the calibration in you're truck Software issue
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 06-11-2014, 08:19 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: middleburgh, n.y
Posts: 394
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 79 toy View Post
No rev limiter in park?

Well it rev to 4k scared the **** outa me didn't see if I would go higher.. In drive it'll shift at 3,100ish..


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 06-11-2014, 08:20 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: middleburgh, n.y
Posts: 394
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Installed 6 pos chip and some odd things

Quote:
Originally Posted by SCUFFY828 View Post
The chip from a friend of a friend doesn't match the calibration in you're truck Software issue

Only difference in the trucks is his is a 01 mines a late 99 never asked about his injectors tho..


Sent from AutoGuide.com App

Last edited by 700xxmaniac; 06-11-2014 at 08:42 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 06-11-2014, 08:25 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Meridian, Idaho
Posts: 342
Thanks: 18
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
PCM codes need to match or be compatible. Otherwise won't run right.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 06-11-2014, 08:28 PM
ADMIN AND TECH


 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: winston salem north carolina
Posts: 9,241
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerrybizzle View Post
PCM codes need to match or be compatible. Otherwise won't run right.
What he said. Your calibration isn't correct
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 06-11-2014, 08:41 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: middleburgh, n.y
Posts: 394
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I got another PCM, it's my old one but it has a flash tune on it and I got no way to remove it. that's why I didn't use it and got this out out of roll over. I think it was a early 99.. If I put the chip in the old PCM would it override the flash tune? I don't wana be "staking chips" I've seen that take out a cummins bottom end!


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors