Removing EGT probe - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-12-2014, 05:52 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 150
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Removing EGT probe

I am going to attempt to remove my EGT probe that has been in the truck for at least 5 or 6 years. Previous owner installed it, and I hope he used a bit of never seize. I am going to soak the heck out of it with Kroil for a few days before I try removing it. Has anybody ever had any issues removing EGT probes?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-12-2014, 05:55 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Bethlehem,Ga
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What are you going to plug the hole with?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-12-2014, 05:59 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Flowery Branch, GA
Posts: 1,370
Thanks: 15
Thanked 45 Times in 42 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You replacing it?? what's the reason for removing it???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-12-2014, 06:13 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 150
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The Excursion came with an Edge Evolution programmer when I bought it. I didn't like how hard it caused the tranny to shift from 1st to 2nd, so I put it back to stock and went with a PHP 5 position chip instead. (Much better!) The tranny still shifts hard from 1st to 2nd but not as bad now. The previoius owner had the transmission rebuilt by some performance shop in B.C. Canada (spent almost $5000 on it!!!) and I dont know exactly what kind of tranny is in it now, but shifting from 1-2 is hard, the rest of the shifts are nice and firm so I dont get it.

I still need a monitor, so I bought the Edge Insight CS, hoping the Evolution EGT probe connector would work with it but it doesn't. The Insight has a 6 pin connector where as the Evoloution probe is a 4 pin. So long story short I need to remove the EGT probe to install the new one.

Funny cause when I called Edge, the tech on the phone told me the probes were compatible with the Evolution and Insight, but when I got it, it obviously wasnt. I called them back, got a different tech on the phone, and he told me they weret compatible and that I had to buy a new probe for the Insight.

So I am hoping I can remove the old one without any issues!! The threads better be the same for both or I will have to plug the hole and drill and tap a new one.

Last edited by Tempsho; 02-12-2014 at 06:19 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-12-2014, 07:01 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 150
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Loooking at the installation manuals closely, I might get away with only having to remove the probe itself, and not the thermocouple fitting.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-12-2014, 07:10 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Columbus, GA
Posts: 201
Thanks: 22
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to PSD POWER007
The fitting in the manifold will be the same. The temp probe will be the same. The only difference will be the plug end on the cable.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-12-2014, 08:01 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Flowery Branch, GA
Posts: 1,370
Thanks: 15
Thanked 45 Times in 42 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tempsho View Post
The Excursion came with an Edge Evolution programmer when I bought it. I didn't like how hard it caused the tranny to shift from 1st to 2nd, so I put it back to stock and went with a PHP 5 position chip instead. (Much better!) The tranny still shifts hard from 1st to 2nd but not as bad now. The previoius owner had the transmission rebuilt by some performance shop in B.C. Canada (spent almost $5000 on it!!!) and I dont know exactly what kind of tranny is in it now, but shifting from 1-2 is hard, the rest of the shifts are nice and firm so I dont get it.

I still need a monitor, so I bought the Edge Insight CS, hoping the Evolution EGT probe connector would work with it but it doesn't. The Insight has a 6 pin connector where as the Evoloution probe is a 4 pin. So long story short I need to remove the EGT probe to install the new one.

Funny cause when I called Edge, the tech on the phone told me the probes were compatible with the Evolution and Insight, but when I got it, it obviously wasnt. I called them back, got a different tech on the phone, and he told me they weret compatible and that I had to buy a new probe for the Insight.

So I am hoping I can remove the old one without any issues!! The threads better be the same for both or I will have to plug the hole and drill and tap a new one.
If you are having hard shifting because I'm having the same issue as you, and Bill spend some time trying different tunes and shifting, but I need a valve body. John Woods has a valve body that will cure our problem, and if you order from John Woods himself he doesn't charge a core upfront, only if you don't send in your within 30 days.

As said above the coupling should be the same, I will keep my fingers crossed for ya
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-12-2014, 08:07 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 150
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I dont know what exactly is up with my tranny. Like I said, the previous owner spent almost $5000 on it. It works great, but the shift from 1-2 is a lot harder than I would like it to be. The Edge Evolution compounded that problem. Could a valve body cause hard shifting from 1-2? Or would it be the same for all gears. I also noticed it takes a long time to shift from 3rd to OD.

I could talk to Bill at PHP to help me, but that would mean I would have to send my chip away to get repgrammed. I live in Canada, so it would mean I wouldnt have a chip for a while.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-12-2014, 08:13 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Flowery Branch, GA
Posts: 1,370
Thanks: 15
Thanked 45 Times in 42 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tempsho View Post
I dont know what exactly is up with my tranny. Like I said, the previous owner spent almost $5000 on it. It works great, but the shift from 1-2 is a lot harder than I would like it to be. The Edge Evolution compounded that problem. Could a valve body cause hard shifting from 1-2? Or would it be the same for all gears. I also noticed it takes a long time to shift from 3rd to OD.

I could talk to Bill at PHP to help me, but that would mean I would have to send my chip away to get repgrammed. I live in Canada, so it would mean I wouldnt have a chip for a while.
It sounds like we have the same problem, what is happening is the fluid isn't getting into the pump correctly, and please don't quote me on the terminology but that's the best way I can explain it. So the valve body helps correct the problem, I have a Jasper HD tranny that I was having shifting issue before the chip thinking the chip would help, but it didn't.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-12-2014, 08:24 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 150
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I definitely dont want to mask the problem by changing the shift characterists on the chip. I would rather fix it properly. I dont know much about transmissions, does the whole tranny have to be removed to change the valve body?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors