Understanding on Programmers - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-03-2008, 09:21 AM
I am that hot

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to superxcrewfx4 Send a message via Yahoo to superxcrewfx4
Cool Understanding on Programmers

Since I am new to the game I really need to understand this whole programmer thing. I know my truck has the bully dog 6 position chip, but I really dont understand how it works. I use the 2nd setting, which isnt the stock one. It has a lot more pickup and go than stock. I have used the other 2 settings on hills and I cant believe how much power comes out of it.

I am just wary of damaging things. I dont romp on it but I cant see what goes on inside the engine and transmission so how am I to know if it is going to be ok in the long run. All the fluids are good and the tranny fluid smells ok.

At some point I am going to get the right programmer, I believe it is the DP or SCT Tuner? The one that has all the custom tunes is the one I see that everyone has. I dont have gauges yet and that is my next expense.

What I guess I am hunting at is, will my truck go through transmissions and injectors if I use the programmer at other settings other than the one after stock.

Sorry I am not very educated at this.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-03-2008, 09:28 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Send a message via AIM to SteveKran Send a message via Yahoo to SteveKran
Put some information about your truck in your signature. It will help us help you
Old 10-03-2008, 09:35 AM