Why wont my TW chip work? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-26-2008, 06:14 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Los Angeles California
Posts: 361
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Why wont my TW chip work?

Let me first say I am not making this post to blame Tony at all. If anything he has been extremely helpful in working with me. He is a stand up guy and this post if anything is an endorsement for him. He's been very helpful and I know he will continue to be helpful until I can get this fixed.

I ordered my chip about a 5 weeks ago. I sent in a 6 position TS chip to get it reburned with the TW tunes. I got it back and put it in. I currently have a TTS chip in there. I basically swapped out the chips, and bolted everything back up. Tried to start the truck, and no go. A few lights on the dash would stay on, (which normally turn off with the TTS chip) and the truck wouldnt turn over. So i took the TW chip off, and put the TTS chip back in and it started up no problem. I did this several times and still no go.

I sent the chip back to tony, and tony being an awesome guy, swapped out the TS chip for one of his chips and sent it back. I got it yesterday, and as soon as i got home, put the chip in, and same issue.

I did send Tony a PM. He is a busy guy, so I figured id ask the forum members for their inputs in the time being.

Since the current TTS chip is working, I want to assume the contacts are ok. Unless someone here thinks otherwise. Would a TTS and TW chip use different pins to communicate with the PCM?

Any other suggestions on what I should look for? Ill get home today and try some nail polish remover on the contacts again to see if maybe the TW chip is a little more sensitive than the TTS with the contacts.

Please help.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 09-26-2008, 06:45 AM
Banned
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Los Gatos CA
Posts: 733
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Usually it is the contacts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 09-26-2008, 06:59 AM
I have excessive flatulance!!
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Abbeville, LA
Posts: 1,273
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Diesel Nick
Did u clean off the contacts on ur PCM? Usually there is a clear film on those contacts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 09-26-2008, 07:06 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: southern NJ
Posts: 214
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The same thing happened to my friend truck and it was the contacts. Make sure you remove that crap from both sides and scrap them with alittle sand paper that should do the trick.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 09-26-2008, 07:10 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Los Angeles California
Posts: 361
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
I bought the truck a few months back and it already had a TTS chip in there. TO get any chip to work, you have to remove the the gel and then get the contacts clean. I assume the TTS chip wouldnt have worked if this wasnt done already.

Im wondering if the TTS chip and TW chip use different pins but I doubt it. Im thinking if 1 contact is bad, and the TTS doesnt use that contact, then it works, but if the TW chip uses all the contacts, then it wouldnt work with 1 bad contact. I really doubt this, but who knows.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 09-26-2008, 03:37 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Saint Peters, MO.
Posts: 177
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yea, since one chip works and the other doesn't that's weird to say the least...
Cleaning them again wouldn't hurt anything of course. I am sure Tony will work with you in figuring it out. (Did you say the truck won't even crank with the new chip?) Do you have the WTS light with the chip in? (No WTS Light would indicate the PCM is not communicating at all,,,,) I have NO CLUE as to why a chip would stop the truck from cranking or turning over....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 09-27-2008, 12:38 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Worthington, Indiana
Posts: 578
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
How about a regular STS light but you get a constant SES light?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 09-27-2008, 03:10 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Los Angeles California
Posts: 361
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
I forget what lights stay on.

I sent the chip back to tony and he is going to try and burn another one with a different code.

He thinks my PCM might have been reprogrammed with another code.

Anyone know how much ford charges to re-program your PCM?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 09-27-2008, 03:32 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Worthington, Indiana
Posts: 578
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
mine had a WTS and it went out as usual but the SES stayed on and I had to reclean my contacts
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors