1999 Powerstroke Boost Limited? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2013, 09:01 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
1999 Powerstroke Boost Limited?

Hey guys so i just wanna say that I am new to the diesel scene. So sorry if any of this sounds dumb.

I just recently purchased a early 1999 7.3 L Powerstroke F350 Super Duty with the Automatic 4R100 tranny. It has 207,000 miles on it. A few of the upgrades include: AFE Cold Air Intake, Edge Evolution chip, Banks Wicked Wheel turbo wheel upgrade, 5 inch straight pipe turbo back exhaust with a 4" downpipe, Aftermarket Fuel Lab Fuel Regulating system, 140 hp injectors, Aftermarket fuel injector rods (dont know the name). So basically all of this was installed on the truck when i purchased it... (for 9000!)

My question is that even with the truck in extreme mode 100 hp and 200 torque even when i hammer on the gas I still can only push 20 lbs of boost. I am curious if some sort of a computer fooler would work to help let it spool up to around 25-30. I know that the hp and torque is there i am just wanting to spool up more boost. Im planning on playing with the shift points programming on the chip. I have also heard that you can use a 4.7 V 1 W Zener diode as a turbo fooler. Does this work? If not im planning on getting a boost fooler kit that will plug into my system.

I guess what im getting at is how do i make more boost? Will a some sort of a computer fooler work?

Last edited by Powersmoke1999; 11-14-2013 at 10:41 AM. Reason: wrong information
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-13-2013, 09:37 PM
Compression Ignition Addict