New to the diesel world - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2013, 08:43 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
New to the diesel world

What should I do to my truck. What mpg can I expect from a somewhat stock with just a edge evolution programmer, and S&B cold air intake. Also don't really know if the exhaust is stock or not need advise again I am new to the diesel world. My wife is picking up the truck right now and I am deployed to Afghanistan right now. What should I expect out of the truck when I get home in a few weeks. It's a 7.3l with 193,000+ miles. I am gonna run into problems soon or do I have a while. The truck was taken care of no rough driving done to it. Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-28-2013, 08:51 AM
Super Moderator

Welcome to the ORG!!

Thanks for your service Robert!

MPG is going to depend a lot on how you drive it. Many times, when power is added, MPG goes down while the added power gets out of the driver's system. BTW, that may be never.
See my signature - I get about 11-13 around town, 14-15 mixed and 17-18 open highway unloaded. Mine is probably heavier than yours so you may get better.

If it's been taken care of, it can last you for a long time. I just rolled 200K and it's still going strong!
Old 10-28-2013, 08:58 AM

what exhaust should I get to make the sound awesome? and I am gonna save up for some upgrades. what should I get
Old 10-28-2013, 09:10 AM
Super Moderator

MBRP and Diamond Eye make 4" Turbo-back exhausts. Some guys run them straight piped. I run mine with the muffler in line, but the way it's oriented, I wonder sometimes how much muffling it's really doing. I like the sound.

I don't know if Georgia does emissions testing or not. You're truck may have a cat, it may not.