TS 6 pos chip and transmission - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 05-03-2013, 12:28 AM Thread Starter
Rodslinger's B1TCH
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Abbotsford BC
Posts: 1,312
Thanks: 11
Thanked 57 Times in 55 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
TS 6 pos chip and transmission

i have a 6 position TS chip in my truck and ever since i installed the transission has done some funny shifting.

when i am at about 3/4 throttle and into higher speeds, it seems to be upshifting to 3rd (or maybe overdrive?) then down to the previous gear and then up into o/d. it only does this in the 50/75/100/140 settings, in the stock setting it feels very stock and shifts like butter.

i was reading a really old thread from '08 on another site where a guy with an obs truck had this happen due to the gears shifting faster than the torque converter could lock, unlock and lock up again? it sounded like this was only possible with the e4od though.

i've read the typical "should have got custom tunes" replies in 1000 other thread so no need for that. just looking to see if anyone else has had this problem and how they solved it

truck is an '03 7.3 auto with btm muffler, 6637 intake and BD billet turbo wheel. as far as i know the transmission is stock and was very likely rebuilt at least once due to the inline ford transmission filter on a cooler line.
steve604 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 05-03-2013, 01:37 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
dentexpowerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Denton, tx
Posts: 1,388
Thanks: 0
Thanked 16 Times in 13 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
It really could be in the tuning, mine started doing that sometimes on my new setup when I got my chip reburnt.

Sold 2001 f250 ccsb 4x4 400/400, dual terminators, swamps 80mm bfh, headers, bts and all the usual supporting mods. 715hp fuel only.

06 f250 ccsb king ranch

12 f250 lariat ultimate
dentexpowerstroke is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 05-03-2013, 11:45 PM Thread Starter
Rodslinger's B1TCH
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Abbotsford BC
Posts: 1,312
Thanks: 11
Thanked 57 Times in 55 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i sent ts an email.... hoping for a reply
steve604 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 05-10-2013, 11:53 PM Thread Starter
Rodslinger's B1TCH
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Abbotsford BC
Posts: 1,312
Thanks: 11
Thanked 57 Times in 55 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i'm guessing that TS is one of those companies that isn't customer service oriented and doesn't really care...
steve604 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 05-11-2013, 12:03 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Wannabitawerm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 289
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Since you've heard it a 1000 times, here's 1001 from someone who knows; mine does the same thing. I have a ww2 and a boost fooler to install an when I do, I will pull it and go to custom tunes. The alternative is an upgraded torque converter. The difference with the canned tunes is they are basic. I want smoother shifts before I have no choice but to do a torque converter. It may not be the response you want, but the ts tunes do what they say they do, they just don't do as much as we would like. Keep up posted as to your results and I'll do the same.


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Wannabitawerm is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 05-11-2013, 05:02 PM Thread Starter
Rodslinger's B1TCH
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Abbotsford BC
Posts: 1,312
Thanks: 11
Thanked 57 Times in 55 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i don't mind harsh shifts. the problem is the downshift when it's not supposed to.

from what i've read, it's possible my transmission is modified for quicker lockup.... maybe even built with a better torque converter. this might be conflicting with TS's tunes.
steve604 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 05-11-2013, 05:36 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Wannabitawerm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 289
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
As far as I know, custom tuning on the chip is the only way. Couldn't hurt to get in touch with beans or tony wildman tunes and ask. I just chalked it up to the 'generic' tunes.


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Wannabitawerm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome