ts chip problems - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-25-2013, 06:12 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 66
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ts chip problems

I have a ts 6 position chip installed on my 02 7.3 and seems to having an issue.... It supposed to be stock high idle 50 75 100 110 tunes or something really close to that anyway it seems that the first 4 spots are high idle and only one hp tune and it's not that much any ideas why it's not working properly FYI I've scrubbed the terminals very well
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-26-2013, 11:06 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Denton, tx
Posts: 1,364
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Are you positive it was tuned for the right pcm code?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-27-2013, 11:21 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wellington Nevada
Posts: 8,409
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
May have cleaned to much! if you see copper its time to re-solder
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-27-2013, 05:48 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I just did one in my truck, use the scotch brite they supply you with and clean the solder to copper, make sure you dont go to deep. Mine took a few try's to make a good connection
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-27-2013, 07:59 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 66
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I was gonna try that one more time before I call ts
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-28-2013, 05:10 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wellington Nevada
Posts: 8,409
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
DO NOT GO TO THE COPPER, OR LISTEN TO NUBBIE'S WITH 2 POSTS!

All you have to do is clean the wax coating off...thats it...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-28-2013, 01:21 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by CT Performance, Inc. View Post
DO NOT GO TO THE COPPER, OR LISTEN TO NUBBIE'S WITH 2 POSTS!

All you have to do is clean the wax coating off...thats it...


Thanks Dick

I have only been doing this for years and have never joined a forum just for this issue, call ts, this is exactly what he told me to do and the only way it would connect with ecm
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-28-2013, 01:44 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wellington Nevada
Posts: 8,409
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Well still doesn't change that its wrong...so many post have been over this over the years and guys removing the solider only to have to re solider it to be able to use the chip.

No where in their instructions doe it say to remove the solider...I've been selling and installing TS chips for years...

By the way my name isn't Dick...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 03-28-2013, 06:59 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Tell that to the guy at Ts performance, mine would make no contact with solder on it period. I went back and forth with them about and his exact words was to get rid of the solder.

But it's ok big man, you win this one
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 03-28-2013, 07:28 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 289
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by CT Performance, Inc. View Post
DO NOT GO TO THE COPPER, OR LISTEN TO NUBBIE'S WITH 2 POSTS!

All you have to do is clean the wax coating off...thats it...
I've heard this over and over. Went to silver, no dice. Tried several times. Nothing. Went to copper, runs like a champ, no problems.


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors