Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

WOW.....

2K views 18 replies 11 participants last post by  lamarmathis 
#1 ·
so i just did the 10k mod with a 5.6k resistor. WOW, what a freaking difference!!!!!:woot::thumb::icon_ford: this thing rocks. for less than 20 cents, my truck will MOVE. (a pack of 5 costs a dollar at radio shack, and i had the solder and gun already). but my question is, being that i used the 5.6k, is there any negatives to this mod. my setup is currently an '02, straight piped and an AirRaid intake. i don't have any gauges, however i'm a freaking grandpa when it comes to driving. i did the mod, just for simple fact of price and for towing, (every little bit helps, but i don't tow hardly ever). my foot almost never gets dumped into the floor. so here's my questions, i know there's a few, but just trying to keep my truck for awhile.

1. do i have to worry about every day driving EGT's? (remember, i'm a grandpa driver)
2. when i do tow something do i have to worry about anything? when i tow it's only for maybe 30 miles on flat ground. (live on the coast).
3. when i do punch it or tow something will i need to put it back to stock before i tow?
4. last question, is there much of a difference between the three, 5.6 10, and stock?

this mod is by far the best bang for the buck. i cannot beleive the difference. i chirped my 35's going into second gear!!!! thanks for the help with the questions in advance guys, i really appreciate it.

later,

Marine:icon_ford:

See less See more
#2 ·
bump, come on people help me out.....

#3 ·
:bump: heres all the help I have

#5 ·
Did you solder it into the wires? Cause all you have to do is unplug the ICP and insert the resistor into two of the connections.
I've heard of the 10K and 18K mods, Don't know about the 5.6Kmod though.
The 10K I did, definitely helped in the throttle response. My truck is programmed so I don't know the difference between this and stock, sorry.