Ford AIS: Problem or not?? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-23-2008, 08:20 PM
Cynic
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 11,194
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ford AIS: Problem or not??

I installed a new AIS system late last month. Quick and simple install. Last week I was checking my oil while filling up, I noticed the filter minder is already at 3/4 to the red. I took the filter out and looked at it.. still looks brand new. I reset the minder and went about my way. I checked it again this morning and it was all the way to change. I reset it and went to work and checked it again. This time it was at half way. When I left work today, I hit 20-25psi launching from a dead stop 5-10 times. When I got home, all the way to the red.


Is this normal?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-23-2008, 08:23 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central coast, california
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
look at the spot behind where they do the zoodad...right where the snorkle comes through...

there was a piece of rubber there you needed to cut out...im guessing you didnt cut it enough or didnt cut it at all....this was only nessicary on the early 99's....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-23-2008, 08:23 PM
Cynic
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 11,194
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I removed that during the install. I should have said that.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-23-2008, 08:25 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central coast, california
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ive honestly never heard of that happening.... make sure a bird or something didnt nest in that snorkle.....an air restriction (besides the filter) is about all that will cause that gauge to move if the gauge spring isnt bad....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-23-2008, 08:27 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central coast, california
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
you arent over 400RWHP are ya?? if your drawing more air than the filter can flow it will peg faster.....if your at 350 you might always show half plugged with a clean filter...just a thought.....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-23-2008, 08:30 PM
Cynic
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 11,194
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have to remove the unit this weekend to get to the top of the engine properly and start the first part of my Frankenstein project. Or as my wife calls it, "garage full of truck crap that needs to go away".
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 01-23-2008, 08:31 PM
Cynic
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 11,194
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc View Post
you arent over 400RWHP are ya?? if your drawing more air than the filter can flow it will peg faster.....if your at 350 you might always show half plugged with a clean filter...just a thought.....
I can't confirm nor deny anything.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 01-23-2008, 08:43 PM
Cynic
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 11,194
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The more I think about this, the more I hope there is a problem. I DO NOT want to go back to the tymar style setup. It was way too loud.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 01-23-2008, 08:48 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central coast, california
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
the AIS will support 400RWHP...

as long as the gauge doesnt say 100% pegged your still getting sufficient street air flow (could cost you a small amount of HP on the dyno or track)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 01-23-2008, 08:51 PM
John Wood Nut Swinger

 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: too far from Texas
Posts: 3,410
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
The filter minder on the AIS is very sensative. If you change it out with the stock filter minder you will see it will not move hardly at all.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors