Intake Truth - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-14-2013, 01:09 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Intake Truth

My stock airbox began to warp after 11+ years of good service. Like many of you, all I had heard about was the open element (I didn't like this) Tymar intake and a way to get it done for less than $100. I loved the stock setup as I keep my engine bay clean and didn't have to worry about getting the filter wet when washing it. I also knew about the Ford/Donaldson AIS intake as well. Being an electrical engineer, I decided to use facts and get to the bottom of the truth between the two before I made a decision on my intake replacement. I don't want to write a research paper, so I will get to my findings. For a stock truck like mine (only a Walker free-flow muffler), there was no contest. In fact, unless you are pushing 400 or more HP, the AIS is better for 2 reasons: 1-Under 400 HP requires a CFM flow that the AIS easily meets and 2-There is not a more efficient filter setup for these trucks as the AIS is best at cleaning air of all intakes at 99.95%. The AIS is also just like stock as it is covered so you can still wash your engine bay worry free. I bought the AIS for $179 total to my door. The DIY 6637 was half so I guess you can say you get what you pay for.

*The filters researched were: 1-Ford FA-1757 (manufactured by Donaldson), 2-Napa 6637 AND the Donaldson B085011 (6637 equivalent). This is where I also found that the Donaldson B085011 version out flowed the Napa 6637 version by over 50 CFM.*
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-14-2013, 07:52 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 5 reviews