TS Performance Chip install, IMPORTANT! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-24-2013, 09:05 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
TS Performance Chip install, IMPORTANT!

I recently purchased a TS Performance 6 Pos chip and was installing it this weekend per all instructions. On the instructions it tells you that you have to clean the connection on the PCM 2-3 times with a scotch Brite pad and se lacquer in order to get the silicone protectant off of it... Not a big deal. What it doesn't tell you is that if you clean it too much, ie the connections start showing copper, the chip will not get a good connection nor will anything else you try to plug into your pcm, causing your truck to not start. At first I thought I was SOL and was going to have to get a new PCM but it turns out you can get your PCM re-tinned and it should work out fine. Unfortunately I learned all of this the hard way so I figured I'd post this so everyone can learn From my mistake. Oh, and don't be surprised if TS Performance sends you a blank chip. That happened to me too. There should be a business card in the box that says which tune is on each position. If that is blank, the chip is blank. Hope this helps someone
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-24-2013, 12:11 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
good info!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-24-2013, 12:57 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 289
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
TS Performance Chip install, IMPORTANT!

I went to silver and it would not start. Was told by the company to take it down to copper. I did and my chip works perfect. Taking it to copper was
The only way to get it to work. Go figure.


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-24-2013, 01:32 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 289
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
TS Performance Chip install, IMPORTANT!

And copper, other than gold, is the one of if not the best conductor anyway. Never could figure out how it would ruin it.


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-24-2013, 02:10 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
That's interesting. Maybe it was just the fact that the chip was blank. A few other people I've talked to said they had the same issue with the copper, along with some people on the forum... Darn electronics haha which tunes are you running on your chip?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-24-2013, 02:56 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 289
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
TS Performance Chip install, IMPORTANT!

I had the stock, high idle, economy, tow, heavy tow, and hot. Was gonna go with custom but my truck is relatively stock. Once I upgrade ill have it reflashed. It works great though. Very happy with it.


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-04-2013, 12:13 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Yuma, AZ
Posts: 74
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have a 1999.5 F250 (manufactured 02/99) with 93,400 miles. I went through the same deal and had to use the scotch bright pad until the terminals went down to copper in color. Once i got the chip installed the truck started right up, i left it in the stock position to give the motor time to warm up before i got on it. I was several blocks from my house (still in the stock setting) and i noticed that the "service engine soon" light was on, so i immediately went up to the auto parts store to try to read the code. When i went to read the code, it wasn't there and the service engine soon light was off. When i left the store, i put it in the 50 hp setting and got on it, and the light went on again. After about a week or so of driving, i've noticed the service engine soon light comes on all the time, no matter what setting i have it on. I think i forgot to mention that i have a K&N air filter insert and a stock air box. Did anyone else have this issue when they installed their chip? Or is this issue expected?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-04-2013, 12:17 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Yuma, AZ
Posts: 74
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
One more thing, i noticed my cruise control light doesn't light up anymore after installing the 6 position... Not sure if this is normal or not.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 03-04-2013, 12:57 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 289
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
TS Performance Chip install, IMPORTANT!

I haven't tried the cruise since the install but, I get an ses light if I switch on the fly but not for long. Get in touch with the manufacturer and ask them. They will be very helpful in working the issue out. You may get a false code occasionally when switching on the fly.


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 03-04-2013, 02:38 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Yuma, AZ
Posts: 74
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I sent an e-mail to the folks i purchased it from but maybe i should contact TS performance directly. When my SES light goes on, it's not from switching on the fly (because i haven't done that yet), and the SES does not turn off unless I cycle power. And when I do cylce power, the SES light will always turn back on for some reason.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors