Newby need help with programmer - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2013, 06:39 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Newby need help with programmer

I'm brand new to diesel's and new to this forum. I recently purchased a 2001 F-250 7.3, 4dr, single axle 4x4 from a buddy who has had it for almost seven years. He has many mods to the motor including 5" exhaust, cold air intake, trans cooler, tower guages, and an Edge Evolution programmer to name a few. It has always gotten exceptional fuel mileage in town and on the highway- empty and towing trailers and RV's.

Since I bought it from him a few weeks ago, it seems the mpg has gone to crap. He was regularly getting 17-19 mpg in town in Extreme mode (hand calculated). Occasionally 23+ on the highway empty. I have filled up several times since I bought it and got 16+ empty on the highway once and am getting about 12-13 in town on two other fill ups. Ended up at 10+ mpg after hauling my 8000+ lb camper in tow mode. This is very unusual for this truck in our experience. I just changed out the fuel filter and cleaned the K&N yesterday.

The only thing we see that is happening different is that the Edge programmer seems to be "going out." The screen is becoming hard to read and I am wondering if it is not acutally putting the truck back in extreme mode and defaulting to Tow or Stock. When driving daily and I turn the key and wait to start, the truck makes the "hmrr" sound as if the programmer is still hooked up and trying to adjust programs.

Is it possible for the programmer to be "bad" and not adjusting the truck's settings? It is about 7 years old. I heard that these units often last only two or three years even though they offer a five year warrantee according to one source.