Need quick TS chip answer.... - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-23-2012, 05:15 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Medford
Posts: 81
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Need quick TS chip answer....

So I have a ts on my truck, the 6 position and I installed it over the summer. Now that winter has hit, The truck wont start in the cold... Come to find out that my truck is a cali truck. and I've heard that you need a certain 6 position chip if your truck is a California truck? Is this true and do I need them to reburn the chip to a cali slandered? Help...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-23-2012, 05:23 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Nacogdoches, TX
Posts: 11,066
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Put it back to stock and try again.

If you needed to have it on a Cali Standard, it wouldn't have started the minute you put it in.
If you're going to custom tune, it might be a diff issue.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-23-2012, 06:13 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Medford
Posts: 81
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesilvas View Post
Put it back to stock and try again.

If you needed to have it on a Cali Standard, it wouldn't have started the minute you put it in.
If you're going to custom tune, it might be a diff issue.
Well I plan to take it out tomorrow and see... But I've just heard that its not good for the truck and could fry something idk... I'll probably contact thoroughbred the people I bought it from and see what they say...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 12-23-2012, 11:37 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Chico, California
Posts: 3,332
Thanks: 14
Thanked 89 Times in 85 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i always start mine in the stock setting and drive stock until it warms up
it starts like crap in the cold on any of the settings other than stock.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 12-30-2012, 10:35 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 867
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
A TS chip should not have anything to do with your truck not starting in the cold. It may just be a coincidence and you may need glow plugs, glow plug relay, or something else.

as mentioned, put it back to stock and see, but I am certain its not the chip. I have run a chip for years now and never had an issue in the winter.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors