Programer reflashing - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 12-08-2012, 09:51 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Ryan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Programer reflashing

Anyone know, roughly, how much it cost to have a programmer reflashed by the company. I picked up a Power programmer III for free today but it appears to be VIN locked.

Not looking for advice on chips and how bad tuners suck. Just wonder if anyone might know.

I dont tow or haul anything... well in the summer I will be pulling a pontoon. but thats about it.

Like the tuner cause I can adjust for tire size and shift points. Not looking to race or blow smoke. Im completely stock besides lift and tires.

Plans for 4 inch turbo back with no muffler.

Thanks for any input

Ryan

2001 Crew Cab Lariat.
6" BDS
325/80/16's
Ryan1 is offline  
post #2 of 6 Old 12-08-2012, 11:16 PM
Super Moderator


 
SuperCrutyPS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Orangevale, CA
Posts: 15,151
Thanks: 82
Thanked 477 Times in 461 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I had a PP3 locked because my PCM died. Hypertech said it would be roughly $250 to have it unlocked. I ended finding another one on sale for $299 w/free shipping. I figured by time I paid to ship to / from Hypertech, I'd be close to that anyway. So I bought the new one.

You may need to contact them to find out if their prices have changed any.


Owner | Operator: Darryl
My Truck Garage: Ol' Guy
Tow Toy Garage : Pilgrim International 31RE3SLF5
United States Navy - IC2 - '76-'80
SuperCrutyPS is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 12-12-2012, 12:10 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
dentexpowerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Denton, tx
Posts: 1,388
Thanks: 0
Thanked 16 Times in 13 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Just spend the money to get a custom ts chip.... Or spend the money to get the hypertech reflashed, then spend the thousands on a rebuilt trans when the hypertech destroys it.

Sold 2001 f250 ccsb 4x4 400/400, dual terminators, swamps 80mm bfh, headers, bts and all the usual supporting mods. 715hp fuel only.

06 f250 ccsb king ranch

12 f250 lariat ultimate
dentexpowerstroke is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 12-12-2012, 02:06 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Ryan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I figured it out.
Thanks

2001 Crew Cab Lariat.
6" BDS
325/80/16's
Ryan1 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 12-12-2012, 07:59 AM
Super Moderator


 
SuperCrutyPS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Orangevale, CA
Posts: 15,151
Thanks: 82
Thanked 477 Times in 461 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dentexpowerstroke View Post
Just spend the money to get a custom ts chip.... Or spend the money to get the hypertech reflashed, then spend the thousands on a rebuilt trans when the hypertech destroys it.
I must be lucky then. I've run the Hypertech PP3 for several years (between the two talked about above). My tranny shifts well and is working fine. I bought the truck in '05 with 109,000 on the clock. I've run Hypertech for at least 4 of the seven years I've had the truck. I just hit 192,### at my last fill up. The only issue I've had with my tranny in that time is the front seal started leaking. Got it fixed (5 years ago), all good here.


Owner | Operator: Darryl
My Truck Garage: Ol' Guy
Tow Toy Garage : Pilgrim International 31RE3SLF5
United States Navy - IC2 - '76-'80
SuperCrutyPS is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 12-13-2012, 01:31 PM
Member
 
Hypertech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 77
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
We charge 200.00 to clear the unit as long as its an updateable unit. You will have to contact us with part number and serial number. Our Programmer will not hurt the transmission.
Hypertech is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome