TW chip using DP switcher - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Power Hungry
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old 11-24-2012, 08:59 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
stonge219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
TW chip using DP switcher

has anyone tryed using a DP 6 pos led switcher on TW tunes?
stonge219 is offline  
post #2 of 10 Old 11-24-2012, 10:51 PM
Serving Our Country!
 
JSchuricht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manor, TX
Posts: 2,967
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Your going to have to do a bunch of leg work to make it work. DP has their chips locked to their programing. I would start off with getting a F6. You will need a good signal analyzer and a good understanding of how the programming works. Start by cracking DP's encryption algorithm then apply it to TW tunes, you should be able to upload them then. Or you could just use DP tunes on DP hardware or TW tunes on a 6 position chip and save yourself a lot of work. Both companies have great tunes, I like the DP hardware better despite it's sensitivity to RF interference. There is also a new chip similar to DP from PHP, it might take TW tunes, not sure.

JSchuricht is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 11-24-2012, 11:58 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
stonge219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yeah i messed up, should have said TW 6pos chip. not tunes. thought it would be cool to have a digital readout of what position its in.

99 F-350 cclb, 11" 40x15.5x20 toyo muds, 4" straight pipe 5" RBP tip, FRx, stage 1's, JW valve body, TW 6 pos chip, afe stage 2, BD trq conv, detriot locker, Vi air extreme duty, HID's, tripple guage pod isspro boost,pyro,trans temp.
stonge219 is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 11-25-2012, 12:57 PM
Serving Our Country!
 
JSchuricht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manor, TX
Posts: 2,967
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Doubt it would work as DP is using a digital switching mechanism. You could build something for the rotary knob. Either add a single digit LED array and use the rotary switch probably with just some diodes and relays to turn on the right segments of the LED. Or build a switcher of your own, perhaps with a PIC, you could program it to accept two inputs, control the LED segments and replicate the output of the rotary switcher.

JSchuricht is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 11-25-2012, 10:20 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
stonge219's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
well damn! looks like it won't happen. thanks for the input. may try and figure it out when i get some time.

99 F-350 cclb, 11" 40x15.5x20 toyo muds, 4" straight pipe 5" RBP tip, FRx, stage 1's, JW valve body, TW 6 pos chip, afe stage 2, BD trq conv, detriot locker, Vi air extreme duty, HID's, tripple guage pod isspro boost,pyro,trans temp.
stonge219 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 11-26-2012, 09:49 AM
Premium Member
 
Power Hungry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winder, GA
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 23
Thanked 44 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Kenny at KT Performance has a digital switch that is designed to work on the TS 6-Pos chip. It's really cool. Check it out here...

Diamond T 6 Position Selector Switch for TS Performance Chip, Green LEDs

Friends don't let friends drive JUNK!
2001 7.3L - Stage 1's at 399 HP - Just a lonely Daily Driver
2004 6.0L - Studded - 440 on #2 Only - 482 on Water/Meth - 12.961 @ 102.6 MPH
Power Hungry is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 11-26-2012, 12:32 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Flatbedcowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Southern Idaho
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Power Hungry View Post
Kenny at KT Performance has a digital switch that is designed to work on the TS 6-Pos chip. It's really cool. Check it out here...

Diamond T 6 Position Selector Switch for TS Performance Chip, Green LEDs
I wish the Digital switch that the new Hydra has would work with a T6 position chip
Flatbedcowboy is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 11-26-2012, 12:56 PM
Premium Member
 
Power Hungry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winder, GA
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 23
Thanked 44 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flatbedcowboy View Post
I wish the Digital switch that the new Hydra has would work with a T6 position chip
Someone was working on one of those like 2-3 years ago, but I never heard anything else about it. I think the problem is that in order to make the switch, you'll need active components in the switch assembly. Because of the current limitations of the TS chip in relation to the switch connector, there isn't enough power to drive any sort of circuit which means you'd need an external power source to run the circuit and LED display. This creates a whole world of complications for the switching device and could possibly even introduce noise into the system. I'm not saying it can't be done, but I just don't think there's enough of a market to make it worthwhile.

Since the Hydra was built from the ground-up with switching mechanism using passive control and the chip handling the logic, there are some advantages. Not to say that the TS is a bad design, it just wasn't designed to handle any more than a few mA to change positions.
centerfitt likes this.

Friends don't let friends drive JUNK!
2001 7.3L - Stage 1's at 399 HP - Just a lonely Daily Driver
2004 6.0L - Studded - 440 on #2 Only - 482 on Water/Meth - 12.961 @ 102.6 MPH
Power Hungry is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Power Hungry For This Useful Post:
centerfitt (02-28-2015)
post #9 of 10 Old 11-27-2012, 04:39 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
new DP 6

What's that new chip similar to DP?? Is it more user friendly than DP??
Any information??

_____
full turnkey assembly

Last edited by veysel89; 12-03-2012 at 06:46 AM.
veysel89 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 11-27-2012, 05:00 AM
Premium Member
 
Power Hungry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winder, GA
Posts: 461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 23
Thanked 44 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It's the Hydra Chip. Check this post....

Hydra Chip Light

You can get them from TW, Gearhead, and a few other vendors.

Friends don't let friends drive JUNK!
2001 7.3L - Stage 1's at 399 HP - Just a lonely Daily Driver
2004 6.0L - Studded - 440 on #2 Only - 482 on Water/Meth - 12.961 @ 102.6 MPH
Power Hungry is offline  
Reply

Tags
chip , dp tuner , tony wildman

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome