TW chip using DP switcher - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-24-2012, 08:59 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
TW chip using DP switcher

has anyone tryed using a DP 6 pos led switcher on TW tunes?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-24-2012, 10:51 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manor, TX
Posts: 2,764
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Your going to have to do a bunch of leg work to make it work. DP has their chips locked to their programing. I would start off with getting a F6. You will need a good signal analyzer and a good understanding of how the programming works. Start by cracking DP's encryption algorithm then apply it to TW tunes, you should be able to upload them then. Or you could just use DP tunes on DP hardware or TW tunes on a 6 position chip and save yourself a lot of work. Both companies have great tunes, I like the DP hardware better despite it's sensitivity to RF interference. There is also a new chip similar to DP from PHP, it might take TW tunes, not sure.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 11-24-2012, 11:58 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yeah i messed up, should have said TW 6pos chip. not tunes. thought it would be cool to have a digital readout of what position its in.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 11-25-2012, 12:57 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manor, TX
Posts: 2,764
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Doubt it would work as DP is using a digital switching mechanism. You could build something for the rotary knob. Either add a single digit LED array and use the rotary switch probably with just some diodes and relays to turn on the right segments of the LED. Or build a switcher of your own, perhaps with a PIC, you could program it to accept two inputs, control the LED segments and replicate the output of the rotary switcher.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 11-25-2012, 10:20 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
well damn! looks like it won't happen. thanks for the input. may try and figure it out when i get some time.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 11-26-2012, 09:49 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winder, GA
Posts: 462
Thanks: 19
Thanked 37 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Kenny at KT Performance has a digital switch that is designed to work on the TS 6-Pos chip. It's really cool. Check it out here...

Diamond T 6 Position Selector Switch for TS Performance Chip, Green LEDs
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 11-26-2012, 12:32 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Southern Idaho
Posts: 252
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Power Hungry View Post
Kenny at KT Performance has a digital switch that is designed to work on the TS 6-Pos chip. It's really cool. Check it out here...

Diamond T 6 Position Selector Switch for TS Performance Chip, Green LEDs
I wish the Digital switch that the new Hydra has would work with a T6 position chip
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 11-26-2012, 12:56 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winder, GA
Posts: 462
Thanks: 19
Thanked 37 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flatbedcowboy View Post
I wish the Digital switch that the new Hydra has would work with a T6 position chip
Someone was working on one of those like 2-3 years ago, but I never heard anything else about it. I think the problem is that in order to make the switch, you'll need active components in the switch assembly. Because of the current limitations of the TS chip in relation to the switch connector, there isn't enough power to drive any sort of circuit which means you'd need an external power source to run the circuit and LED display. This creates a whole world of complications for the switching device and could possibly even introduce noise into the system. I'm not saying it can't be done, but I just don't think there's enough of a market to make it worthwhile.

Since the Hydra was built from the ground-up with switching mechanism using passive control and the chip handling the logic, there are some advantages. Not to say that the TS is a bad design, it just wasn't designed to handle any more than a few mA to change positions.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 11-27-2012, 04:39 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
new DP 6

What's that new chip similar to DP?? Is it more user friendly than DP??
Any information??

_____
full turnkey assembly

Last edited by veysel89; 12-03-2012 at 06:46 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 11-27-2012, 05:00 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winder, GA
Posts: 462
Thanks: 19
Thanked 37 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It's the Hydra Chip. Check this post....

Hydra Chip Light

You can get them from TW, Gearhead, and a few other vendors.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
chip, dp tuner, tony wildman

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors