Hydra Chip Light - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-12-2012, 04:19 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hydra Chip Light

Stock 2002 F250, no catalytic converter, but bone stock. Looking for some more power, now that the truck is running like a champ. I've been back and forth between chips and programmers, and found the PHP Hydra chip light. Looks like a pretty sweet deal, 17 position selection, fully loaded chip, with software to re-program as needed at home for... FREE! So, I checked out their Facebook page, and they are going to offer a package deal with the Edge Insight.
Don't know that I'm going to be able to not purchase this. Canned tunes for my truck should be pretty spot on, as I don't plan on modifying much.
Thoughts? PHP seems to have a pretty good rep here, and the chip seems to be a good deal at $425
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-13-2012, 07:50 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: West MI
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I think it is a good setup I don't know that I would ever use more than 3 or 4 tunes but the fact that you could try all of them and not have to send in the chip is nice!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 11-13-2012, 07:45 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winder, GA
Posts: 462
Thanks: 19
Thanked 37 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
One other thing to keep in mind with the Hydra Chip is that you're not locked into just using PHP tunes. You can order tunes from anyone you'd like and install them on the chip. You could get tunes from Tony Wildman, Matt @ Gearhead, or any of a number of other tuners and those tunes will work just fine on the chip.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 11-14-2012, 02:39 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: West MI
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Power Hungry View Post
One other thing to keep in mind with the Hydra Chip is that you're not locked into just using PHP tunes. You can order tunes from anyone you'd like and install them on the chip. You could get tunes from Tony Wildman, Matt @ Gearhead, or any of a number of other tuners and those tunes will work just fine on the chip.
That is good to know!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 11-14-2012, 03:01 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: West MI
Posts: 91
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Power Hungry View Post
One other thing to keep in mind with the Hydra Chip is that you're not locked into just using PHP tunes. You can order tunes from anyone you'd like and install them on the chip. You could get tunes from Tony Wildman, Matt @ Gearhead, or any of a number of other tuners and those tunes will work just fine on the chip.
I was reading on the facebook page and saw that a longer usb was an option does the cable that comes with the unit require you to remove the chip to add programs to it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 11-14-2012, 12:42 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Beautiful Winder, GA - Just off I-85
Posts: 673
Thanks: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by MZ 500 View Post
I was reading on the facebook page and saw that a longer usb was an option does the cable that comes with the unit require you to remove the chip to add programs to it?
Yes; we made the longer cable an option because we know that not every person out there owns a laptop and can just sit in their truck to reprogram their chip.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 11-14-2012, 03:56 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm pretty sure that if you don't own a laptop, you wouldn't be interested in setting programs for your own truck. You'd be sending things back through the mail and talking on a rotary phone...
This is becoming a no brainer for me. If the wife wasn't outside on the phone, I'd be getting the PCM code off my 250, and finishing the order online.
Looking forward to some package pricing for the chip and Edge combo, I just have to explain the package to momma when it shows up.
(may have to mail y'all a postal money order, so I can hide the transaction costs....)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 11-14-2012, 05:11 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Pasco, Washington
Posts: 112
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave75d View Post
I'm pretty sure that if you don't own a laptop, you wouldn't be interested in setting programs for your own truck. You'd be sending things back through the mail and talking on a rotary phone...
This is becoming a no brainer for me. If the wife wasn't outside on the phone, I'd be getting the PCM code off my 250, and finishing the order online.
Looking forward to some package pricing for the chip and Edge combo, I just have to explain the package to momma when it shows up.
(may have to mail y'all a postal money order, so I can hide the transaction costs....)
I think you should stare her down, package and bank statment in hand and say. " *****, this is how it's gonna be".
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 11-15-2012, 03:44 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Beautiful Winder, GA - Just off I-85
Posts: 673
Thanks: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave75d View Post
I'm pretty sure that if you don't own a laptop, you wouldn't be interested in setting programs for your own truck. You'd be sending things back through the mail and talking on a rotary phone...
This is becoming a no brainer for me. If the wife wasn't outside on the phone, I'd be getting the PCM code off my 250, and finishing the order online.
Looking forward to some package pricing for the chip and Edge combo, I just have to explain the package to momma when it shows up.
(may have to mail y'all a postal money order, so I can hide the transaction costs....)
Oh, you can't imagine how many customers have stuff shipped to their place of business to hide it from Momma -- at least for awhile because we ALWAYS find out.

I should be posting the package prices at some point tomorrow or Saturday, so be sure to check out our FB page.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors